Faculty

The Special Education faculty are committed to providing the highest quality education to the candidates in our program. We model best practices by providing a strong, student-centered curriculum with an emphasis on ongoing formative feedback to help candidates grow.

Department Chair

Peg Hughes, Ph.D.
peg.hughes@sjsu.edu
408.924.3673
Sweeney Hall (SH) 204
Peg Hughes

Faculty Directory

Janel Astor | Lecturer
janel.astor@sjsu.edu

Laurene Beto | Lecturer
laurene.beto@sjsu.edu

Jenna Collen | Lecturer
jenna.collen@sjsu.edu

Andrea Golloher, PhD | Associate Professor
andrea.golloher@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @AGollher
Spotify playlist

Alicia Henderson | Lecturer, Fieldwork Coordinator
alicia.henderson@sjsu.edu

Sudha Krishnan, EdD | Lecturer
sudha.v.krishnan@sjsu.edu

Saili Kulkarni, PhD | Associate Professor
saili.kulkarni@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @DrKoolkarni
Spotify playlist

Jennifer Lambinicio | Lecturer
jennifer.lambinicio@sjsu.edu

Matthew Love, PhD | Assistant Professor
matt.love@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @docmlove

Jennifer Madigan, EdD | Lecturer
jennifer.madigan@sjsu.edu
Spotify playlist

Shirley Ortiz | Lecturer
shirley.ortiz@sjsu.edu

Hyun-Sook Park, PhD | Professor
hyunsook.park@sjsu.edu

Vickey Perkins | Lecturer, Fieldwork Supervisor
vickey.collins@sjsu.edu

Lisa Simpson, EdD | Associate Professor
lisa.simpson@sjsu.edu
Twitter: @LisaSimp44932943
Spotify playlist

Everett Smith | Lecturer
everett.smith@sjsu.edu

Nancy Smith | Lecturer
nancy.smith@sjsu.edu

Jay Totter | Lecturer
joseph.totter@sjsu.edu

Fieldwork Supervisors

Laurene Beto
laurene.beto@sjsu.edu

Shirley Ortiz
shirley.ortiz@sjsu.edu

Vickey Perkins
vickey.collins@sjsu.edu

Nancy Smith
nancy.smith@sjsu.edu

Jay Totter
joseph.totter@sjsu.edu

Recent Faculty Highlights

Saili KulkarniDr. Saili Kulkarni, along with students Samuel Bland and Monica Gonzalez, were highlighted in the recent Rethinking Schools publication for their Special Education Teachers of Color Collective. Read the highlight at bit.ly/3oa8gye.

 

Saili KulkarniDr. Saili Kulkarni published the op-ed "South Asians Are Asians Too. When Will Our Racial Reckoning Be?" in Ms. Magazine. Read the full opinion piece at bit.ly/3aBtaRh.

 

 

Becca Cruz Dr. Becca Cruz recently co-authored the journal article “Disproportionality Reduction in Exclusionary School Discipline: A Best-Evidence Synthesis” in the Review of Educational Research. Read the abstract at bit.ly/3rmb6Ru.

 

 

Dr. Saili Kulkarni presented "DisCrit at the Margins of Teacher Education" at our Fall 2020 Lurie College of Education Faculty Research Symposium. Watch the full recording above and watch Saili's presentation starting at 5:16.

Matt Love WebinarDr. Matt Love was asked to lead the California Council for Exceptional Children webinar “Supporting Students Learning Online”

 

 

 

 

Andrea Golloher

Dr. Andy Golloher co-published the article "Diversity Dialogues: online discussions impact on teacher candidates’ adoption of characteristics of inclusive teachers" in the Asia-Pacific Journal of Teacher Education. Read the article abstract [pdf].

 

Faculty Observation Forms

Supervision Fieldwork Forms

Department Supervisor Forms

EDSE 217A - M/M Preliminary ST Placement

  1. University Supervisor Checklist: Intern Last Semester [pdf]
  2. University Supervisor Checklist: Traditional Student Teacher [pdf]
  3. Credential Application Checklist [pdf]
  4. Disposition Form [pdf]
  5. Directed Teaching Form [pdf]
  6. Transition Form [pdf]
  7. Student Opinion Form - Master Teacher [pdf]
  8. Student Opinion Form - Support Provider [pdf]
  9. Student Opinion Form - University Supervisor [pdf]
  10. Focus Group Questions [pdf]
  11. Rubric for Portfolio [pdf]
  12. Improvement Plan [pdf]
  13. Pacing Guide RSP Placement [pdf]
  14. Pacing Guide SDC Placement [pdf]

EDSE 154 - Mod/Severe (F/S) and ECSE (spring only)

  1. University Supervisor Checklist: Intern Last Semester [pdf]
  2. University Supervisor Checklist: Traditional Student Teacher [pdf]
  3. University Supervisor Checklist : ECSE - Student Teacher [pdf]
  4. University Supervisor Checklist : ECSE - Intern [pdf]
  5. Credential Application Checklist [pdf]
  6. Disposition Form [pdf]
  7. Directed Teaching Form [pdf]
  8. Transition Form [pdf]
  9. Student Opinion Form - Master Teacher [pdf]
  10. Student Opinion Form - Support Provider [pdf]
  11. Student Opinion Form - University Supervisor [pdf]
  12. Focus Group Questions [pdf]
  13. Rubric for Portfolio [pdf]
  14. Improvement Plan [pdf]
  15. Final Evaluation Infant/Toddler Form [pdf] - ONLY ECSE program
  16. Midterm Evaluation Form [pdf] - ONLY ECSE Program
  17. Pacing Guide RSP Placement [pdf]
  18. Pacing Guide SDC Placement [pdf]

EDSE 105 Intern Forms

  1. University Supervisor Checklist: First Semester Interns [pdf]
  2. Evaluation Form [pdf]
  3. Induction Plan [pdf]
  4. Checklist for Intern Application Packet [pdf]
  5. Collaborative Intern Program Application [pdf]
  6. IRIS Modules Instructions [pdf]
  7. Intern Agreement Form [pdf]
  8. Support Provider Application [pdf]
  9. Support Provider Job Description [pdf]
  10. Support and Supervision Record Form [pdf]
  11. Improvement Plan [pdf]