Research Groups

New knowledge in chemistry is produced systematically through research. Chemical research is at the core of all Ph.D. programs in chemistry as well as most research and development (R&D) divisions in high technology companies developing products ranging from pharmaceuticals to consumer electronics. Participation in research not only prepares students for these activities, but is also one of the best ways to learn advanced problem solving skills. For these reasons, research is central to our department's mission and many of our faculty have assembled a team of undergraduate and graduate students to actively engaged in the pursuit of new knowledge.

This page contains some basic information about the research interests of our faculty. Several faculty also have research group pages that give more detailed information. If you are interested in exploring the possibility of participating in some of the exciting research projects in our department, the first step is to contact the faculty member(s) with whom you are considering working and inquire about the availability of opportunities. Most faculty prefer to be contacted by e-mail.

View faculty by subfield:


David BrookDavid Brook
Professor, Organic Chemistry
408-924-4994
david.brook@sjsu.edu
SCI 166
Brook Research Group Page

Synthesis and coordination chemistry of stable free radicals, magnetochemistry, self assembly, and supramolecular chemistry, molecular devices.

 

Lionel CheruzelLionel Cheruzel
Professor, Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry
408-924-5283
lionel.cheruzel@sjsu.edu
DH 286
Cheruzel Research Group Page

Development of hybrid P450 enzymes, photocatalytic chemistry, development of microspherical polymers.

 

Philip DirlamPhilip Dirlam
Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry
408-924-4998
philip.dirlam@sjsu.edu
DH 516

 

Daryl EggersDaryl Eggers
Professor, Biochemistry
408-924-4960
daryl.eggers@sjsu.edu
DH 286
Eggers Research Group Page

Effects of crowding and solvation on protein folding, CD spectroscopy, biocalorimetry, microscale thermophoresis.

 

Nicholas EskerNicholas Esker
Assistant Professor, Nuclear Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
408-924-4950
nicholas.esker@sjsu.edu
DH 501

Nuclear reaction and decay spectroscopy in isotopes far from stability, superheavy element synthesis, thin film preparations for nuclear targetry, nuclear & radiochemistry.

 

Gianmarc GrazioliGianmarc Grazioli                                                              Assistant Professor, Computational Chemistry, Physical Chemistry
408-924-4826
gianmarc.grazioli@sjsu.edu    
DH 05B                                                                                Grazioli Research Group Page

Computational methods development using molecular simulations and machine learning to study configurational dynamics in biomolecules, molecular self-assembly, and reaction dynamics.

 

Resa KellyResa Kelly
Professor, Chemical Education
408-924-4940
resa.kelly@sjsu.edu
DH 418
Kelly Research Group Page

How animations of microscopic chemistry concepts affect student learning and influence the correction and creation of misconceptions.

 

Brooke LustigBrooke Lustig
Adjunct Professor, Biomedical, Chemical, and Materials, Computational Biochemistry
408-924-4968
brooke.lustig@sjsu.edu
DH 417
Lustig Research Group Page

Computation and theoretical methods to characterize entropy and related effects in proteins and RNA, design of potential anti-HIV agents.

 

Laura Miller ConradLaura Miller Conrad
Associate Professor, Chemical Biology, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry
408-924-4957
laura.miller.conrad@sjsu.edu
DH 608
Miller Conrad Research Group Page

Quorum sensing, blocking of virulence factors.

 

Gilles MullerGilles Muller
Professor, Inorganic Chemistry and Chemical Biology
408-924-2632
gilles.muller@sjsu.edu
DH 412A
Muller Research Group Page

Lanthanides, complexes, circularly polarized luminescence, chirality, thermodynamics, and spectroscopy.

 

Roy OkudaRoy Okuda
Professor, Organic Chemistry
408-924-2525
roy.okuda@sjsu.edu
DH 009A

Marine natural products, and enzyme applications

 

Madalyn RadlauerMadalyn Radlauer
Assistant Professor, Organometallic, Inorganic, and Polymer Chemistry
408-924-5482
madalyn.radlauer@sjsu.edu
DH 517
Radlauer Research Group Page

Studying catalysis within macromolecular environments by appending transition metal catalysts to organic polymers.

 

Alberto A. Rascón, Jr.Alberto A. Rascón, Jr.
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
408-924-4969
alberto.rascon@sjsu.edu
DH 612

Expression, characterization, and inhibition of mosquito proteases.

 

Roger TerrillRoger Terrill
Associate Professor, Analytical Chemistry and Electrochemistry
408-924-4970
roger.terrill@sjsu.edu
DH 004B
Terrill Research Group Page

Surface, interfacial, and thin film chemistry.

 

Annalise Van WyngardenAnnalise Van Wyngarden
Associate Professor, Physical and Atmospheric Chemistry
408-924-5282
annalise.vanwyngarden@sjsu.edu
DH 002

Formation and optical properties of organic coatings on atmospheric aerosols, chemical transformations and photochemistry in aerosols.

 

Ningkun WangNingkun Wang
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry and Chemical Biology
408-924-4955
ningkun.wang@sjsu.edu
DH 607
Wang Research Group Page

Protein conformational dynamics, protein-protein interactions, enzyme specificity. 

 

Abraham WolcottAbraham Wolcott
Assistant Professor, Physical Chemistry
408-924-5449
abraham.wolcott@sjsu.edu
DH 005A
Wolcott Research Group Page

Application of nanotechnology and nanodiamonds in neurobiology.