Faculty / Staff

Chicana & Chicano Studies Faculty

Maria Luisa Alaniz, Ph.D. Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
Email: maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
Office: DMH 220

Office Hours: Email for appt.

Rosanna Alvarez, Senior Lecturer
Email: rosanna.alvarez@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Estevan Azcona, Ph.D., Assistant Professor & Graduate Coordinator/Advisor
Office: CL 229B
Email: estevan.azcona@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408.924.5837
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Magdalena Barrera, Ph.D.
Email: magdalena.barrera@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Rebeca Burciaga, Ph.D.
Office: SH 422
Email: rebeca.burciaga@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408.924-3644
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Peggy Cabrera, Lecturer & Librarian
Email: peggy.cabrera@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Maria Luisa Colmenarez, Lecturer
Email: marialuisa.colmenarez@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Jesus Covarrubias, Senior Lecturer
Email: jesus.covarrubias@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Maria Cruz, Ph.D., Lecturer
Email: maria.cruz@sjsu.edu
Office: SSC 518
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Julia Curry-Rodriguez, Ph.D. Professor
Office: CL 229C
Email: julia.curry@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408.924.5310
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Angela Espinosa, Ph.D., Lecturer
Email: angela.espinosa@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Roberto Gonzalez, Ph.D., Interim Chair
Email: roberto.gonzalez@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Juan Gamboa, Senior Lecturer
Email: juan.gamboa@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Jonathan Gomez, Ph.D., Undergraduate Advisor
(On leave Fall 2021 & Spring 2022)
Email: jonathan.d.gomez@sjsu.edu
Office: CL 229D
Phone: 408.924.5855
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Ernesto Martinez, Lecturer
Email: ernesto.martinez01@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Maribel Martinez, Lecturer
Email: maribel.martinez@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Usiel Meraz Cerna, Lecturer  
Email: usiel.merazcerna@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Juan Pablo Mercado, Ph.D., Lecturer  
Email: juanpablo.mercado@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Gregorio Mora-Torres, Ph.D., Emeritus Faculty
Email: gregorio.mora-torres@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Marcos Pizarro, Ph.D.  
Email: marcos.pizarro@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Felipe Ponce, Senior Lecturer
Email: felipe.ponce@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Johnny C. Ramirez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Email: johnny.c.ramirez@sjsu.edu
Office: CL 229A
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Christine Vega, Ph. D., Assistant Professor
Email: christine.vega@sjsu.edu
Office: 229A
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Christal West, Lecturer
Email: christal.west@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appt.

Chicana & Chicano Studies Staff

Erlinda Yañez, Department Coordinator
Office: CL 231A
Email: erlinda.yanez@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408.924.5760

Emily Gonzalez-Alcala, Student Assistant
Office: CL 231
Email: emily.gonzalezalcala@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408.924.5760

Chicana & Chicano Studies Graduate Mentors  

Alex Avalos
Email: alexander.avalos@sjsu.edu

Viridiana Vidales Anguiano
Email: viridiana.vidales-anguiano@sjsu.edu