Faculty / Staff

Chicana & Chicano Studies Faculty

Maria Luisa Alaniz, Ph.D., Professor & Undergraduate Advisor
     Email: maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5543
     Office: DMH 220
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Rosanna Alvarez, Senior Lecturer
     Email: rosanna.alvarez@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Magdalena Barrera, Ph.D., Professor
     Email: magdalena.barrera@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Rebeca Burciaga, Ph.D., Professor
     Email: rebeca.burciaga@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.3644
     Office: SH 422
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Maria Luisa Colmenarez, Lecturer
     Email: marialuisa.colmenarez@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Jesus Covarrubias, Senior Lecturer
     Email: jesus.covarrubias@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Maria Cruz, Ph.D., Lecturer
     Email: maria.cruz@sjsu.edu
     Office: SSC 518
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Julia Curry-Rodriguez, Ph.D., Professor
     Email: julia.curry@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5310
     Office: CL 229C
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Ella Maria Diaz, Department Chair & Professor
     Email: ella.diaz@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5704
     Office: CL 231B
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Susanna Gallardo, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer
     Email: susanna.gallardo@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5739
     Office: DMH 238A
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Jacqueline Gamboa, Lecturer
     Email: jacqueline.gamboa@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Juan Gamboa, Senior Lecturer
     Email: juan.gamboa@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Jonathan Gomez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
     Email: jonathan.d.gomez@sjsu.edu
     Office: CL 229D
     Phone: 408.924.5855
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Angelina Loyola, Lecturer
     Email: angelina.loyola@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Ernesto Martinez, Lecturer
     Email: ernesto.martinez01@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Maribel Martinez, Lecturer
     Email: maribel.martinez@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Juan Pablo Mercado, Ph.D., Lecturer  
     Email: juanpablo.mercado@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Gregorio Mora-Torres, Ph.D., Emeritus Faculty
     Email: gregorio.mora-torres@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Marcos Pizarro, Ph.D., Professor
     Email: marcos.pizarro@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Felipe Ponce, Senior Lecturer
     Email: felipe.ponce@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Johnny C. Ramirez, Ph.D., Assistant Professor & Graduate Coordinator
     Email: johnny.c.ramirez@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5880
     Office: CL 229A
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Bobby Seals, Ph.D. Lecturer
     Email: bobby.m.seals@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Christine Vega, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
     Email: christine.vega@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5583
     Office: CL 229A
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Christal West, Lecturer
     Email: christal.west@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Danny Valencia, Ph.D., Lecturer
     Email: daniel.valencia@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Diana Zamudio, Lecturer
     Email: diana.zamudiogarcia@sjsu.edu
     Office Hours: Email for appt.

Chicana & Chicano Studies Staff

Erlinda Yañez, Department Analyst
     Email: erlinda.yanez@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5760
     Office: CL 231A

Patricia Loredo, Administrative Support Coordinator
     Email: patricia.loredo@sjsu.edu
     Phone: 408.924.5431
     Office: CL 231