Scholarships and Awards

The Temple Prize

The Temple Prize is an award that has been funded by an anonymous donor, and it provides an annual award of (currently) $400 to be given to a student enrolled in a philosophy class who wrote an outstanding philosophical paper in the junior year.

The Herman Shapiro Memorial Scholarship Fund

The Herman Shapiro Memorial Scholarship Fund was created by Mrs. Charlott Shapiro. The award is made each year to a student who is a declared philosophy major who has achieved junior, senior or graduate standing, with a GPA of at least 3.0 at the time they are considered for the scholarship.

The Lydia A. and George V. Pinto Scholarship

In the Spring of 1992, George Pinto, a philosophy M.A. graduate, established The Lydia A. and George V. Pinto Scholarship in the name of his parents. An annual award of $250 is to be made in the Fall term of each year to a graduating senior planning to study philosophy in graduate school to help defray the costs of applying to graduate programs. In addition, the student who receives this award must demonstrate “a love for Philosophy, involvement in the community, and a commitment to social justice.”

The Manor Award

Our newest scholarship, The Manor Award, is in the name of Ruth Manor, an emeritus faculty member from our department. It is given to promising logic students who plan graduate work. 

The Arthur Ordaz Award

The Arthur Ordaz Award is given to philosophy majors and/or M. A. students in general, this provides a  total of $1000 each year for the purchase of philosophy books and philosophy research materials.

More Information

If you are interested in donating to any of these scholarships, or endowing a scholarship, please contact the Department Chair at