Faculty and Staff

Front Office

Photo of Janet Stemwedel Janet D. Stemwedel
Chair
Ph.D., (Philosophy) Stanford
Ph.D., (Chemistry) Stanford
Janet.Stemwedel@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Science (esp. Chemical Theory and Practice), Metaphysics (esp. Causation), other interests: Ethics of Science, History of Science, Feminist Philosophy of Science

default headshot; white image of Spartan helmet on grey background Kristine Adams
Administrative Analyst
kristine.adams@sjsu.edu

default headshot; white image of Spartan helmet on grey backgroundTruc Tran
Admin Support Coordinator
truc.tran@sjsu.edu

 

Full-Time Faculty

default headshot; white image of Spartan helmet on grey backgroundRiana Betzler
riana.betzler@sjsu.edu

No Photo Karin Brown
Ph.D., Graduate School and University Center, City University of New York
karin.brown@sjsu.edu

Ethics and Political Theory, Feminist Philosophy, Buddhist Philosophy

Etienne Bown Étienne Brown
Ph.D., Université Paris-Sorbonne
etienne.brown@sjsu.edu

Political Philosophy, Ethics, Philosophy of Technology, Social Epistemology

No Photo Rebecca Chan
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
J.D., University of Colorado - Boulder
rebecca.s.chan@sjsu.edu

Metaphysics, Metaethics, Philosophy of Law, Philosophy of Religion

Photo of Noah Friedman-Biglin Noah Friedman-Biglin
Undergraduate Advisor 
Ph.D., Joint Programme in Philosophy at the University of St Andrews and the University of Stirling
noah.friedman-biglin@sjsu.edu

History of Analytic Philosophy, Philosophy of Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics

Photo of Tom Leddy Thomas W. Leddy
Ph.D., Boston University
thomas.leddy@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Art, Aesthetics, Ancient Philosophy, Plato, Nietzsche

No Photo Jordan Liz
Ph.D., University of Memphis
jordan.liz@sjsu.edu 

Philosophy of Race, Philosophy of Medicine, Bioethics.

Bo Mou Update 11/20/19 Bo Mou
Ph.D., University of Rochester
bo.mou@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Language, Metaphysics, Chinese Philosophy, Comparative Philosophy

Photo of Carlos Sanchez Carlos Alberto Sanchez
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
carlos.sanchez@sjsu.edu 

History of Mexican Philosophy, Phenomenology 

Photo of Anand Vaidya Anand Jayprakash Vaidya
Ph.D., University of California - Santa Barbara
anand.vaidya@sjsu.edu

Epistemology (esp. intuition, perception, and modality), Philosophy of Mind, Critical Thinking, Comparative Philosophy (esp. Classical Indian and Analytic Philosophy)

 

Affiliated Faculty

Jason AleksanderJason Aleksander
Associate Dean of Faculty Success and Research, College of Humanities and the Arts
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Medieval and Renaissance Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Dante Studies

 

Adjunct Faculty

No Photo Fern Alberts
M.A., San José State University
Fern.Alberts@sjsu.edu 

No Photo Lisa Bernasconi
M.A., San José State University
lisa.bernasconi@sjsu.edu

Ethics, Political Philosophy, Metaphysics

No Photo Javier Cardoza-Kon
M.A. (Great Books), St. John's College
Ph.D., University of California-Santa Cruz
javier.cardoza-kon@sjsu.edu

20th Century Continental/ European philosophy.Technology and politics, deconstruction, Indigenous Science and Native American Philosophy. 

No Photo Andrew Delunas
M.A. Philosophy, University of Missouri at St. Louis
andrew.delunas@sjsu.edu

Early Modern Philosophy (especially Hume), pragmatism, consciousness

Photo of Jan GiddingsJanet Giddings
M.A. Philosophy, San José State University
M.A. Theology, University of San Francisco

Philosophy of Religion, Ethics, Ethics, and Gambling

No Photo Trevor Gullion
M.A. Philosophy, San José State University
trevor.gullion@sjsu.edu 

default headshot; white image of Spartan helmet on grey backgroundKyle Hertsch
kyle.hertsch@sjsu.edu

No Photo Tim Johnston
Ph.D., Stony Brook University
timothy.johnston@sjsu.edu 

Philosophy and Aging, Feminist and Queer Theory, 20th Century French Philosophy, Care Ethics

No Photo Michael Jordan
M.A., San José State University
Michael.Jordan@sjsu.edu 

Ethics, Phenomenology, and Existentialism

Deena Lin's Profile PictureDeena Lin
Ph.D., Claremont Graduate University
deena.lin@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Religion, Comparative Religion, Poststructuralist Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy

Photo of Jim Lindahl James Lindahl
Ph.D., University of Western Ontario
james.lindahl@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Social Science, Cross-cultural criticism, Philosophical Issues in Anthropology (ethics of representation and translation theory)

Harlan McGhan's Profile PictureHarlan McGhan
M.A. Philosophy, Princeton University
harlan.mcghan@sjsu.edu

History and Logic of Science, Epistemology, Ethics

default headshot; white image of Spartan helmet on grey backgroundDavid McReynolds
David.McReynolds@sjsu.edu

Photo of Nathan OsborneNathan Osborne
M.A., San José State University
Nathan.Osborne@sjsu.edu 

Existentialism and Critical Theory

No Photo Krupa Patel
Ph.D., University of New Mexico
krupa.patel@sjsu.edu

Epistemology (esp. perception)

Photo of George Pinto George J. Pinto
M.A., London School of Economics
M.A., San Jose State University
Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
george.pinto@sjsu.edu

Business and Professional Ethics

Iman Roohnavaz's Profile PictureIman Roohnavaz
M.A. Philosophy, San Francisco State University
M.A. Philosophy, Shahid Beheshti University (Tehran, Iran)
Iman.Roohnavaz@sjsu.edu

Ancient Greek and Contemporary Philosophy, Ethics and Political Philosophy, History of Philosophy, Logic, Aesthetics, and Islamic Philosophy

No Photo Casey Smith
M.A., San José State University
casey.smith@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Expertise, Experimental Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind, Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, and Logic

No Photo Elizabeth Sonnier
Ph.D., Fordham, New York City's Jesuit University
elizabeth.sonnier@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Science, Process Philosophy, Logic, and French Phenomenology and Existentialism

Photo of John Wilhelmsson John C. Wilhelmsson
M.A., San José State University
john.wilhelmsson@sjsu.edu 

Ethics, Phenomenology, and Edith Stein

Photo of Dan Williamson Dan C. Williamson
Ph.D., University of California - Riverside

Continental Philosophies with a specialization in Foucault, Postmodernism and Gender Studies; emphasis on ethics in various registers and corresponding interests in American Studies 

No Photo Kyle Yrigoyen
M.A., San José State University
kyle.yrigoyen@sjsu.edu

Philosophy of Technology, General Philosophy of Science, Ethics

Emeritus Faculty 

No PhotoPaul Bashaw

No Photo Arthur Cody

Photo of Noam Cook S. D. Noam Cook

No PhotoPhil Davis

No PhotoAmnon Goldworth

Photo of Peter Hadreas Peter J. Hadreas

No Photo Peter Koestenbaum

No Photo Tommy L. Lott

Photo of Rita Manning Rita C. Manning

 No photoChánh Phan

Photo of Bill Shaw William H. Shaw

No Photo Joe Waterhouse

In Memoriam