Congratulations to AEPG Awardees for 2024-2025

  line drawing of aepg logo.

Congratulations to all of the faculty awardees for an Artistic Excellence Programming Grant for 2024-2025! (Read on for the upcoming projects.)

What is AEPG?

Since this initiative began in 2018, it's grown into the H&A in Action college-wide initiative that focuses on melding teaching, research, and public programming to involve students and our surrounding San Jose community in the engaging public programming our college offers. These grants allow us to maximize students’ exposure to and interaction with high-quality, diversified programming in the performing, visual, literary, and culinary arts. The Hammer Theatre and other performing venues on campus offer an opportunity for SJSU to create a coherent arts and culture programming series that invites students to have hands-on experiences with world-class professionals.

For 2024-2025, we are continuing our Sustainable Futures theme and have added a new theme, Re-Invention: Re-Building; Re-Imagining, Re-Conceptualizing through the Arts and Humanities.

Bring Students into the Collaboration

While AEPG faculty are planning next year's events, we encourage as many other faculty as possible to read the descriptions, to get involved, to engage their students in the event's ground-floor creation (instead of only as passive viewers later in the audience.) Read the proposal descriptions all of these exciting events here.

As event details are finalized, they will be entered into the SJSU Events Calendar, publicized on H&A in Action, and then publicized in the Dean's weekly Monday Mailers. But, don't wait for that last minute notice! If you're interested in integrating one of these events into your courses for AY 2024-2025, please contact the coordinator now. We have a bank of teaching materials and assignments that you could easily adapt into your curriculum.

Watch for all of these AEPG events in upcoming classes, on stages, across campus, and throughout the San José area next year starting in August 2023.

Full Descriptions Available


  • Selena Anderson (ENGL) Center for Literary Arts Reading Series 2024-2025

  • Apryl Berney (Film, Theater & Dance) Stepford Daughters: Weapons for Feminists in Contemporary Horror

  • Erica Buurman (MUSC) Beethoven Sources and the Living Artwork: A String Quartet Masterclass and Performance

  • Sukanya Chakrabarti (F&T/D) What’s your story?: Telling Stories of Identity and Immigration from South Asia
  • Fred Cohen (MUSC) Kaleidoscope 2025
  • Fred Cohen (MUSC) Premiere performance, Nizkor-A Journey of Remembrance
  • Barnaby Dallas (F&T/D) Cabaret
  • Barnaby Dallas (F&T/D) The Kite Runner
  • Eleni Duret (HUM) The EmpowerED: Re-Conceptualizing Teaching Series
  • Michael (Tod) Edgerton (ENGL) The ART of a SUSTAINABLE FUTURE: From Climate Anxiety to Community Action
  • Pablo Furman (MUSC) New Music Festival and Guest Composer, with Composer Jake Heggie
  • Ray Furuta (MUSC), Fusion Echoes: Multidimensional-Silicon Valley Music Festival
  • Marjan Khatibi (DSGN) Reimagining History Through Design: Preserving Places and Combating Gentrification
  • Tina Korani (JMC) SJSU x Swinburne: Creative Collaboration for Good across the Pacific
  • Thomas Langan (MUSC) African Drum, Dance, and Culture Festival
  • Aaron Lington (MUSC) Black Cab Concert Series
  • Christopher Luna-Mega (MUSC) Drawing Sound: Fred Frith/Heike Liss Improvisation Residency
  • Nick Martinez (F&T/D) Cup Of Jo
  • Belén Moreno Albarracín (JMC) The San Antonio Festival. Re-vitalizing the Paseo through Branding and Urban Culture
  • Kathleen Normington (F&T/D) The Thanksgiving Play by Larissa Fasthorse
  • Kathleen Normington (F&T/D) Shakespeare's Comedy of Errors
  • Shannon Rose Riley (HUM) Catalog of Unabashed Gratitude: Ross Gay at the Hammer
  • Daniel Rivers (HUM) Comics and the Future of Representation: Presenting the John Steinbeck “In the Souls of the People” Award to Gene Luen Yang
  • Cheyla Samuelson (WLL) Transborder Translation: A Bilingual Night of Poetry
  • Alena Sauzade (AAH) Diana Pumpelly Bates: Unity Revolution
  • Matthew Spangler (F&T/D) Performing Iranian Diaspora(s)
  • Janet Stemwedel (PHIL) Dungeons & Dragons (& cooperative ethical decision-making)

Thank you to the Review Committee for their dedicated work in considering all proposals: Dean Shannon Miller, Christopher Luna-Mega, Alena Sauzade, Kathleen Normington, Cheyla Samuelson, Chafin Seymour, J. Michael Martinez, Eleanor Pries, Chris Burrill (advisory), and Katherine D. Harris. 

Previous AEPG Projects & Awardees

To read about the more than 500 wonderful AEPG-supported events and programming since 2018, check out our previous awardees and program reports. For articles and information on Public Humanities & the Arts, check out our resources

Apply Next Year!

If you're interested in applying for AEPG funding for 2024-2025, watch this space for the release of the new request for proposals in November and announcement of informational sessions and open office hours to brainstorm about creating a robust, collaborative project. 

-Author: Katherine D. Harris (updated May 2, 2024)