Staff Awards

San José State University honors twelve outstanding staff members in four staff award categories annually at the Spartan Service Celebration.

Award Categories

  • Outstanding Staff of the Year - Exemplary SJSU staff member or auxiliary staff member who has made a valuable contribution to the campus.
  • Distinguished Services Award - SJSU staff member an auxiliary staff member who has worked for SJSU for more than 10 years and has displayed a commitment to excellent service to the campus community.
  • Spartan Spirit Award - SJSU staff member, manager, or auxiliary employee who displays exceptional Spartan spirit and pride.
  • Critical Employee Award - To honor an SJSU staff member or an auxiliary staff member who are shining behind the scenes to support our campus.

Nomination Process

The nomination form is posted annually in September/October. You can review the award criteria and nomination questions below.

Award Recipients for 2022-23

Outstanding Staff of the Year

  • Sharlene Washington - Biological Sciences / CLS & CGMBS Training Program - Award Winner
  • Amy Chan - Finance Support & Innovation - Honorable Mention
  • Lydie Rashel - College of Engineering / Mechanical Engineering - Honorable Mention

Critical Employee

  • Jed Soliven - Office of the President / Institutional Affairs - Award Winner
  • Bonnie Sugiyama - PRIDE & Gender Equity Center - Honorable Mention
  • Sylvia Ruiz - University Library - Honorable Mention

Distinguished Service

  • Eva Joice - Academic Senate - Award Winner
  • Thuy-Trang Duong - College of Professional & Global Education - Honorable Mention
  • Robert Bain - University Marketing & Communications - Honorable Mention

Spartan Spirit Award

  • Matthew Snyder - CommUniverCity - Award Winner
  • Edlin Hernandez - Career Center - Honorable Mention
  • Khristine Lugo - Special Events - Honorable Mention

Congratulations to everyone who has been recognized for a staff award! Check out the staff award recipients from past years.