Faculty

Richard Chung, PhD. Richard Chung, PhD.
Department Chair
Professor of Materials Engineering
(408) 924-3927
richard.chung@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385E
Research interests: Product design, process design and control, green energies, semiconductor devices, failure analysis, membrane technology, biomedical devices, conductive polymers, biodegradeable /compostable materials, smart materials, water filtration, nanotechnology and nanocomposites.

 

Katy Kao, PhD.Katy Kao, PhD.
Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-3827
katy.kao@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385K
Research interests: Dr. Kao's research focuses on genomics, systems biology and biotechnology. Her laboratory is interested in using genomic and systems biological tools to study microbial adaptation in various environments. Specifically, Kao is focusing on the use of adaptive laboratory evolution to develop microbes such as yeast and bacteria for enhanced tolerance to toxic feedstock and products and to increase product formation. Her lab utilizes omics tools in an effort to identify the cellular components responsible for the selected traits. In addition to industrial biotechnology application, she is also interested in understanding how opportunistic human fungal pathogens adapt to environmental stressors and how interactions between different species that are co-isolated impact biofilm.

 

Ozgur Keles, PhD.Özgür Keleş, PhD.
Assistant Professor of Materials Engineering
(408) 924-3926
ozgur.keles@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385F
Research interests: Additive manufacturing; Machine learning approaches for mechanics of materials; Virtual/Augmented reality for engineering education and training

 

Santosh KC, PhD. Santosh KC, PhD.
Assistant Professor of Materials Engineering
(408) 924-3823
santosh.kc@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 379
Research interests: Materials theory and simulations, electronic, optoelectronic, magnetic materials, energy conversion and storage materials, nanomaterials, 2D materials.

 

Claire Komives, PhD.Claire Komives, PhD.
Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-4003
claire.komives@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385
Research interests: Process development and quantitative analysis of a low cost therapy for snakebite.

 

Gautam Kumar, PhD.Gautam Kumar, PhD.
Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-3894
gautam.kumar@sjsu.edu
Office: E283K
Lab website: sites.google.com/sjsu.edu/gautamkumar
Research interests: Dynamical Systems Modeling, Analysis, and Control, Data-Driven Modeling and Control, Optimal Control Theory, Computational Neuroscience & Psychiatry, Brain Medicine, Closed-Loop Neuromodulation/Brain-Machine Interfaces, Neural Engineering, and Machine Learning/Artificial Intelligence.

 

Melanie McNeil, PhD. Melanie McNeil, PhD.
Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-4000 
melanie.mcneil@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385I
Research interests: Enzyme kinetics. Membrane separation processes. Energy/water/food nexus. Thin film applications for drug delivery and photovoltaics.

 

Dahyun Oh, PhD.Dahyun Oh, PhD.
Assistant Professor of Materials Engineering
(408) 924-3197
dahyun.oh@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385B
Research interests: Aqueous lithium ion batteries; Porous structure development; In situ gas evolution analysis; Biomaterials driven inorganic synthesis

 

Anand Ramasubramanian, PhD.Anand Ramasubramanian, PhD.
Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-3922
anand.ramasubramanian@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385H
Research interests: Vascular mechanobiology; Antimicrobial drug discovery; Biofilms

 

 

Liat Rosenfeld, PhD. Liat Rosenfeld, PhD.
Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-4051
liat.rosenfeld@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385G
Research interests: Microscale Transport Phenomena; Microfluidic based artificial placenta for preterm babies, Droplet Actuation on Digital Microfluidics Devices; Microfluidic based biosensorsfluids

 

David Wagner, PhD.David Wagner, PhD.
Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering
(408) 924-3189
david.wagner@sjsu.edu
Office: ENGR 385J
Research interests: Sustainability, Thermal Analysis, Carbon capture, Bio- and Renewable Energies, and Engineering Education

 

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Brooke Lustig
Affiliated/Adjunct Professor
brooke.lustig@sjsu.edu 

Dr. Craig England
Affiliated/Adjunct Professor
craig.england@sjsu.edu

Lecturers

Lee Aarons
Lecturer
lee.aarons@sjsu.edu

Shashi Argawal
Lecturer
shashi.argawal@sjsu.edu

Daniel Chafey
Lecturer
daniel.chafey@sjsu.edu

Dr. Smita Duorah
Lecturer
smita.duorah@sjsu.edu

Dr. Craig England
Lecturer
craig.england@sjsu.edu

Dr. Yen Fu
Lecturer
yen.fu@sjsu.edu

Dr. Emi Ishida
Lecturer
emi.ishida@sjsu.edu

Pavan Kambam
Lecturer
pavan.kambam@sjsu.edu

Dr. Micheal Oye
Lecturer
micheal.oye@sjsu.edu

Dr. Tony Pan
Lecturer
tony.pan01@sjsu.edu

Christy Peters
Lecturer
christina.peters@sjsu.edu

Yazdan Pedram Razi
Lecturer
yazdan.pedramrazi@sjsu.edu

Dr. Yanika Schneider
Lecturer
yanika.schneider@sjsu.edu

Brenda Serrano
Lecturer
brenda.serrano@sjsu.edu

Xhavin Sinha
Lecturer
xhavin.sinha@sjsu.edu

Faculty Emeriti

Dr. Emily Allen
Retired Professor of Material Engineering,
Current Dean of Cal State LA Engineering

Dr. K. S. Sree Harsha (Deceased)
Emeritus Professor of Material Engineering

Dr. Michael Jennings [pdf]
Emeritus Professor of Chemical Engineering

Dr. Robert Johnk (Deceased)
Emeritus Professor of Chemical Engineering

Dr. Ralph Parkman [pdf]
Emeritus Professor of Material Engineering

Dr. Patrick Pizzo (Deceased)
Emeritus Professor of Material Engineering

Dr. Robert Romig (Deceased)
Emeritus Professor of Chemical Engineering

Dr. Greg Young
Retired Professor of Chemical Engineering