Task Force on Community Safety and Policing



SJSU’s Task Force on Community Safety and Policing was created by President Papazian as part of SJSU’s commitment to examine and begin to address systemic racism. The initiative was sparked by the Black Lives Matter Movement, uprisings across the nation protesting police violence, and calls to reexamine the role of policing, including exploring “alternate means to provide safety, intervention and care that prioritizes healing, restoration, and justice for all members of the community.” 

In July 2020, President Papazian released a call requesting nominations or self-nominations for representatives from students, staff, and faculty to form a Task Force on Campus Safety and Policing as part of a broader effort to reevaluate university policy and procedures with an equity lens. The President’s Leadership Team on Equity and Justice reviewed the nominations to produce a recommended list of individuals for the President to approve. The Task Force was convened in September 2020. 


The Task Force on Community Safety and Policing charge is to examine the critical safety issues of the San José State University campus and the roles the University Police Department and other campus departments, student and community organizations, neighborhood associations and other groups have in ensuring an environment conducive to learning, racial justice and equity.

Representing a cross-section of the SJSU community—including students, staff, faculty, alumni and external community members—the Task Force is engaged in relevant discussions based on SJSU’s mission, its role in the city and region, environmental analysis, equity and justice, stakeholder experiences, benchmark analysis, current and emerging best practices, and the strategic direction of the university.


Member Title
Patrick Day

Vice President for Student Affairs (co-chair)

Edith Kinney

Associate Professor in the Department of Justice Studies (co-chair)

Frank Belcastro

Captain, San José State University Police Department

Alexandra Froelich

Director of Student Conduct and Ethical Development

Dalila Gomez

SJSU student, Associated Students, Inc. Director of Student Rights and Responsibilities

Henderson Hill Director of Student Involvement
Nicole Morris Director of Clery Compliance
Ana Navarette Director of UndocuSpartan Student Resource Center
Raul Peralez Member of San José City Council, District 3
Garrick Percival Associate Professor in Political Science
Edwin Tan Director of Advocacy and Community Relations
Aurion Wiley-Green SJSU student, Double major, Justice Studies & African American Studies
Gil Zamora Lecturer in Justice Studies and Forensic Sciences


Community Engagements Completed

  • President’s Cabinet
  • Academic Senate
  • Student Affairs Leadership Team
  • Justice Studies Department
  • SJSU Black Spartans Council
  • Associated Students
  • Solidarity Network
  • Fraternity/Sorority/RSO’s 

Upcoming Engagements

  • Council of Deans
  • SJSU Community
  • Surrounding Neighborhoods
  • More to be scheduled

Contact Us

Please share your personal thoughts or experiences regarding community safety and/or policing with the task force.