Mary Brugo Graduate Scholarship Award in Geography

This scholarship award is from the family and estate of Dr. Mary Brugo, an alumna of the Department, to a Geography graduate student who shows extreme dedication in the pursuit of excellence in geographic research and commitment to the discipline.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Tou In Kwan

Margaret Schumb Memorial Scholarship

Awarded to a “most promising” continuing Urban Planning student.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Michelle Chang

Fishman Wilcoxson Scholarship Award in Geography

This scholarship award is given by an endowment started by emeritus SJSU Geography Faculty. The scholarship award is given to a graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding performance in her/his degree program and future promise in the field of Geography.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Jaisipa Mingthaisong

Maria Henle Scholarship Award in Geography

This scholarship award is given by the Maria Henle endowment established by the family of Maria Henle to select Geography students who show merit, commitment, and dedication to the advancement and discipline of Geography.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Takion Nakamura

Bert Muhly Scholarship Fund

This scholarship, which honors former Professor Bert Muhly, goes to a continuing Urban Planning student who demonstrates academic excellence, plus outstanding
contributions to the planning profession, the community, and the department.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Edward Huynh

David J. Powers Scholarship

Awarded every 3 years to a student who has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to sustainability and environmental planning.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Carlina Rose

Dan and Ann Rothblatt Scholarship

This scholarship, which honors Professor Emeritus Donald N. Rothblatt, goes to a graduating student who demonstrates academic excellence and service to the department and the profession. 

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Maxwell Friedman

Mary W. Jo Taketa Scholarship Award

This scholarship award is given on behalf of the Mary W. Joe Endowment, established by Dr. Richard Taketa, an emeritus Geography faculty in honor of his wife. This award to given to a Geography student who embodies work, commitment, and achievement in the pursuit of a B.A. or M.A. in Geography.

  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Melanie Morales
  • AY 2023-24 Awardee - Jake Wilde

College of Social Sciences Scholarships

Each year, the College of Social Sciences offers scholarships to students majoring in one of the College's departments and programs. The College scholarships represent the generosity of many friends, alumni, and former Deans of the college. These scholarships reward academic excellence and take into account financial need to help address the ever-increasing costs of higher education.
COSS Scholarship Information

Information on CPF Scholarships:

CPF Scholarship Application

For more information about Scholarships, please contact Jeffrey Hare: