Contact Us

Future, current and transfer students can contact Bill Alley in the Art Office at bill.alley@sjsu.edu for more information about the Department and your program of interest. Bill can also assist you with your application for changing your major, adding a minor, applying for graduation, or helping you with choosing courses for the next semester.

 

You can request meetings over Zoom with Bill between 1:00 - 4:00 PM, Mon - Fri. Please email Bill – <bill.alley@sjsu.edu> for the Zoom link.

 


Art Department Office Hours

 

The Art and Art History Department Office is open from Monday to Wednesday between 8:00 AM and 5:00 PM. The office is closed for lunch from 12:00 to 1:00 PM. The office is closed Fridays. Please contact Bill Alley (bill.alley@sjsu.edu) for any concerns.

 


Art Office Contact

 

Art Dept. Email: art@sjsu.edu
Art Dept. Phone: 408-924-4353

 

Art Dept. Mail:

Department of Art and Art History: Art 116
San José State University
One Washington Square
San José California, USA, 95192-0080

Instagram: @art.sjsu    Facebook: art.sjsu

 


People

 

Art Office

Prof. Virginia San Fratello – Interim Chair
virginia.sanfratello@sjsu.edu

Marcia Block – Administrative Analyst
marcia.block@sjsu.edu

Bill Alley – Administrative Assistant
bill.alley@sjsu.edu

 


Graduate Program - MFA

Prof. Chelsea Thompto – Graduate Coordinator MFA
chelsea.thompto@sjsu.edu

 


Graduate Program - MA

Prof. Elizabeth Carroll – Graduate Coordinator MA
elizabeth.carroll@sjsu.edu

 


Program Coordinators

Prof. Elizabeth Carroll

Coordinator of Art History and Visual Culture 
Coordinator of Architectural Studies
elizabeth.carroll@sjsu.edu

Prof. Rhonda Holberton

Coordinator of Digital Media Art (DMA)
rhonda.holberton@sjsu.edu

Prof. Binh Danh

Coordinator of Photography
binh.danh@sjsu.edu

Prof. Shaun O’Dell

Coordinator of Pictorial Art
shaun.odell@sjsu.edu

Prof. Shannon Wright

Coordinator of Spatial Art
shannon.wright@sjsu.edu

 


Art Galleries

Dr. Alena Sauzade

Curator and Gallery Director
Natalie and James Thompson Gallery
alena.sauzade@sjsu.edu

 


Facilities Coordinators

Steven Davis – Art Foundry
steve.davis@sjsu.edu

Jordan Shepard – Central Shops
jordan.shepard@sjsu.edu

Lydia Black – Central Shops and Pictorial
lydia.black@sjsu.edu

Tim Straubing – Ceramics and Glass
tim.straubing@sjsu.edu

James Morgan – Digital Media Art Labs
james.morgan@sjsu.edu

Alena Sauzade – Student Galleries
alena.sauzade@sjsu.edu

Kathleen McDonald – Photography Labs
kathleen.McDonald@sjsu.edu

Bob Rose – Visual Resource Library (VRL)
robert.rose@sjsu.edu