Emergency Notification: COVID-19

Visit the Health Advisories website for the latest updates, FAQs, vaccination information, and to Report a Case.

Advising

 

Adding an Art Minor

Email Bill Alley, bill.alley@sjsu.edu, for more information about changing your major, adding a minor or applying for graduation.

 


Undergraduate and Graduate Advisors List

 

Bachelor of Art (BA) in Studio Practice

Prof. Binh Danh (Photography)
Office: DH 401C
binh.danh@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-4489
Office Hours: T 3:30pm to 5:30pm

Prof. Valerie Mendoza (Photography)
Office: DH 401C
valerie.mendoza@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-4693
Office Hours: T 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Prof. Robin Lasser
robin.lasser@sjsu.edu
(510) 282-6993 
Office Hours: T/R 11:00am - 12:00pm

Prof. Shaun O'Dell (Pictorial Art)
Office: ART 315
shaun.odell@sjsu.edu 
(408)924-4404
Office Hours: W 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Prof. Adam Shiverdecker (Spatial Art)
Office: IS 124C
adam.shiverdecker@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M/W 11:00am - 12:00pm (appointment required)

Prof. Shannon Wright (Spatial Art)
Office: ART 119
shannon.wright@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M 10:00am - 12:00pm

Prof. Andrew Blanton (DMA) 
On sabbatical for Spring 2022
Office: ART 311
andrew.blanton@sjsu.edu 

Prof. Craig Hobbs (DMA)
Office: ART 319
gcraig.hobbs@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: W 10:00am – 12:00pm

Prof. Rhonda Holberton (DMA)
Office: ART 319
rhonda.holberton@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M 10:00am - 4:10pm, W 1:45pm-2:45pm

Prof. Chelsea Thompto (DMA)
Office: ART 311
chelsea.thompto@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: T 12:30pm - 2:30pm

 


Preparation for Teaching

Prof. Barbara Hughes
Office: ART 333
barbara.hughes@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: T/R 2:30pm - 4:30pm (appointment required)


Art History and Visual Culture

Prof. Anthony Raynsford
Office: ART 123
anthony.raynsford@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: T 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Prof. Dore Bowen
Office: ART 123
dore.bowen@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: W 10:00am – 12:00pm

 


Bachelor Of Fine Arts – B.F.A Degree and Master of Fine Arts – MFA Degree

 

Digital Media Art

Prof. Andrew Blanton
On sabbatical for Spring 2022
Office: ART 311
andrew.blanton@sjsu.edu 

Prof. Craig Hobbs
Office: ART 319
gcraig.hobbs@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: W 10:00am - 12:00pm

Prof. Rhonda Holberton
Office: ART 319
rhonda.holberton@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M 3:10pm - 4:10pm, W 1:45pm - 2:45pm

Prof. Chelsea Thompto
Office: ART 311
chelsea.thompto@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: T 12:30pm - 2:30pm

 


Photography  

Prof. Binh Danh
Office: DH 401C
binh.danh@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-4489
Office Hours: T 3:30pm - 5:30pm

Prof. Valerie Mendoza
Office: DH 401C
valerie.mendoza@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-4693
Office Hours: T 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Prof. Robin Lasser
robin.lasser@sjsu.edu
(510) 282-6993 
Office Hours: T/R 11:00am - 12:00pm

 


Pictorial Art

Prof. Shaun O'Dell
Office: ART 315
shaun.odell@sjsu.edu 
(408)924-4404
Office Hours: W 4:00pm - 6:00pm

 


Spatial Art

Prof. Adam Shiverdecker
Office: IS 124C
adam.shiverdecker@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M/W 11:00am - 12:00pm (appointment required)

Prof. Shannon Wright
Office: ART 119
shannon.wright@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M 10:00am - 12:00pm

 


M.A. Program Contact

Prof. Anthony Raynsford
Office: ART 123
anthony.raynsford@sjsu.edu 
(408) 924-4320
Office Hours: T 2:00pm - 4:00pm


M.F.A Program Coordinator

Prof. Rhonda Holberton
Office: ART 319
rhonda.holberton@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: M 3:10pm - 4:10pm, W 1:45pm - 2:45pm

 


Special Advising Needs

Students with special advising questions or concerns, please contact the Program Coordinator of your area. Program Coordinators are listed by Area in the Contact Us section of this site under About Us or click here.

 


General Education (GE) advising

For General Education (GE) advising, please contact the H&A Student Success Center: Room CL 244 or 408-924-5095 or ha-successcenter@sjsu.edu

 


SJSU Course Catalog

Refer to the San Jose State University Course Catalog for information on SJSU, updated catalog and course descriptions. 

 


Advising Guide: Materials and Forms

Visit the Forms page for materials and links relating to advising or graduations. Please check with the main Art and Art History Office if an online form is out-of-date, incomplete, or if you need a form not listed here.