Faculty

Dr. Carlos E. GarciaCarlos E. Garcia, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor & Department Chair
408-924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
DMH 240B
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Maria Luisa AlanizMaria Luisa Alaniz, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5543
maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
DMH 220
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. William ArmalineWilliam Armaline, Ph.D. (he/him)
Associate Professor & Director, Human Rights Institute
408-924-2935
william.armaline@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 2-3 PM or Email to make an appointment or drop-in after 2:15 PM

Dr. Amy AugustAmy August, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor & Assistand Dir., Institute for Sport, Society & Social Change (ISSSC)
408-924-4366
amy.august@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Mon 10:30-11:30 AM & 1:30-2:30 PM and by appointment; See syllabus for zoom link

 

Dr. Tanya BakhruTanya Bakhru, Ph.D. (she/her)
Professor & Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program Coordinator
408-924-5744
tanya.bakhru@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: email for appt.

Jose BautistaJose Bautista
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5861
jose.bautista@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Apryl BerneyApryl Berney
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5750
apryl.berney@sjsu.edu
HGH 234
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Natalie BoeroNatalie Boero, Ph.D.
Professor & Graduate Coordinator
408-924-5345
natalie.boero@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Wednesday 10:15am-11:45 am 

Dr. Daniel BrookDaniel Brook, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-2914
daniel.brook@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs, 11-11:55 AM; See syllabus for zoom link

Rachel Bryant-AndersonRachel Bryant-Anderson, Ph.D. (she/her)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5336
rachel.bryantanderson@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Tuesdays, 2-3PM & by appointment. Emaill for zoom link.

Dr. Jack CaravesJack Caraves, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5365
jack.caraves@sjsu.edu
DMH 220
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Angela CastilloAngela Castillo (she/her)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5593
angela.castillo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 1:15-2:15 PM; Email for zoom link

Dr. Soo Ho ChoiSoo Ho Choi, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5329
soo.choi@sjsu.edu
DMH 238
Offie Hours: Tues/Th 9am-12pm; Email for zoom link

Dr. Peter ChuaPeter Chua, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5330
peter.chua@sjsu.edu
DMH 223
Office Hours: Tues/Th 12-1 PM; Email for Zoom link

Christopher CoxChristopher Cox
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5326
christopher.cox@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Please email for Zoom link

Dr. Soma DeBourbonSoma de Bourbon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-7747
soma.debourbon@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Tues/Th 5PM-6 PM 

John DeGuzmanJohn DeGuzman
Lecturer
408-924-5752
john.deguzman@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: Weds 5:00-6:00pm via Zoom and by appointment.

Jason DeHaanJason DeHaan (he/him)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5332
jason.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Tues 12-1 PM & Wed 1-2 PM;  Calendly Appointment 

Dr. Tracy DeHaanTracy DeHaan, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5592
tracy.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Email for appt.Tue 1-3 PM/ Zoom Th.1-2 PM

Dr. Hien Duc DoHien Duc Do, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5747
hien.do@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Email for appt., see syllabus for zoom link

Dr. Faustina DuCrosDr. Faustina DuCros (she/her)
Associate Professor & Designated Sociology Advisor
408-924-5325
faustina.ducros@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours: Book a Zoom Appointment & Drop in Availability

Dr. Susana GallardoSusana Gallardo, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5739
susana.gallardo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Tues 12 -2 PM; See syllabus for zoom link

Dr. Shahin GeramiShahin Gerami, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5754
shahin.gerami@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Walter R. JacobsWalter R. Jacobs, Ph.D.
Professor & Dean of the College of Social Sciences
408-924-5306

Karin JefferyKarin Jeffery, Ph.D. (she/her)
Lecturer
408-924-8946
karin.jeffery@sjsu.edu
SPX 156
Mon & Wed 10:30-11:30am, or email for appointment.
Please email for Zoom link. 

Dr. Yvonne KwanYvonne Kwan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Asian American Studies Coord.
408-924-5258
yvonne.y.kwan@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 12pm-1pm Schedule an Appointment 

 

Dr. Stephen MorewitzStephen Morewitz, Ph.D. (Dr.)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5331
stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Tuesday 5:45-6:45 PM in DMH 237A.

 

Dr. Scott Myers-LiptonScott Myers-Lipton, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor
408-924-5761
smlipton@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs, 1:15-2 pm on Zoom until 2/14, then in DMH 331.

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoJana Ruijgrok Neubauerova
Lecturer
408-924-5429
jana.ruijgrokneubauerova@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Tue/Thurs 11 AM- 12 PM via Cloud Scheduler.

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoTrung Nguyen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
On leave Fall 2021 & Spring 2022
trung.nguyen@sjsu.edu
DMH TBD
Office Hours: TBD

Saugher Nojan photoSaugher Nojan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5340
saugher.nojan@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Mark PasionMark Pasion
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5335
mark.pasion@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoChristina Ayson Plank (she/they)
Lecturer
408-924-5814
christina.aysonplank@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: Thursday 11 AM- 1 PM, please email for Zoom link.

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoMeleia Simon-Reynolds (she/her)
Lecturer
408-924-5865
meleia.simon-reynolds@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 1:30-2:30 PM, please email for Zoom link.

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoLiz Roberts
Lecturer
408-924-5327
liz.roberts@sjsu.edu
DMH
Office Hours: Wednesday 11-12 PM online and by Appointment via email

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoMitra Rokni, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5788
mitra.rokni@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours:  Email for appointment

Dr. Joanne RondillaJoanne Rondilla, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor
408-924-1543
joanne.rondilla@sjsu.edu
DMH 223
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 3:30-4:30pm (in person); Thursdays 1-4pm via Zoom. Email for zoom link

Dr. Preston O. Rudy Preston O. Rudy, Ph.D. (he/him)
Assistant Professor
408-924-5333
preston.rudy@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours: In person: Mon 4:30-5PM, Tues 1-1:30PM, Wed 11-11:30AM; AND Via Zoom Tues 6-6:30PM, and by appointment; Email for Zoom link.

Dr. Elizabeth SweetElizabeth Sweet, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor & Advisor
408-924-5253
elizabeth.sweet@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours: Schedule an Appointment

Dr. Megan ThieleMegan Thiele, Ph.D. (she/her or they/them)
Associate Professor
408-924-2975
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
DMH 224
Office Hours: Weds. 10:30-11:30AM and 1:30-2:30PM ; See syllabus for zoom link

Dr. Yolanda WigginsYolanda Wiggins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5040
yolanda.wiggins@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Email for appointment