Faculty

 

Faculty Contact Information
Photo of Natalie Boero

Natalie Boero, Ph.D.
Professor & Department Chair
408-924-5345
natalie.boero@sjsu.edu
DMH 240B
Office Hours: Mondays 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM and by appointment; Wednesdays 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM. 

Spartan Connect

Spartan Spirit logo

Roni Abusaad, Ph.D. 
Lecturer
roni.abusaad@sjsu.edu 
Office Hours: By appointment on Zoom. 

armaline

William Armaline, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor 
408-924-2935
william.armaline@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM by appointment.

bakhru

Tanya Bakhru, Ph.D. (she/her)
Professor & Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program Coordinator
408-924-5744
tanya.bakhru@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesday 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM and by appointment.

 Photo of Jose Bautista

Jose Bautista
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5788
jose.bautista@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours: Mondays 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM and by appointment.

 Photo of Apryl Berney

Apryl Berney
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5750
apryl.berney@sjsu.edu
HGH 234
Office Hours: Fridays 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM.

Photo of Angela Castillo

Angela Castillo (she/her)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5593
angela.castillo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Mondays 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM and by appointment.

      Photo of Soo Choi

Soo Ho Choi, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5329
soo.choi@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM.

     Photo of Chris Cox

Christopher Cox

Senior Lecturer
408-924-5326
christopher.cox@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Wednesdays 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM.

Photo of Soma de Bourbon

Soma de Bourbon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-7747
soma.debourbon@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Not teaching AY 23-24.

Photo of Jason DeHaan

Jason DeHaan (he/him)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5332
jason.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Not teaching Spring 2024.

   Photo of Tracy DeHaan

Tracy DeHaan, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5592
tracy.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Not teaching Spring 2024.

Photo of Hien Do

Hien Duc Do, Ph.D.
Professor & Associate Chair
408-924-5747
hien.do@sjsu.edu
DMH 239B
Office Hours: Wednesdays 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM and by appointment.

DuCros

Faustina DuCros, Ph.D. (she/her)
Associate Professor & Designated Sociology Advisor
408-924-5325
faustina.ducros@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours:

SOCI 181B: Tuesdays 11:30 AM -12:30 PM via Zoom (see syllabus for link), or email for appointment

Sociology Major/Minor Advising: Find an Appointment via Spartan Connect

 

Photo of Jesilyn Faust

Jesilyn Faust, Ph.D.

Lecturer

408-924-5593

jesi.faust@sjsu.edu

DMH 237A

Office Hours: Mondays 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM and by appointment. 

Photo of Paul Fong

Paul Fong, Ph.D.

Lecturer

408-924-5752

paul.fong@sjsu.edu

DMH 238B

Office Hours: Wednesdays 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM and by appointment.

Photo of Catherine Fung

Catherine Fung

Lecturer

catherine.fung@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: By appointment on Zoom. 

   Photo of Susana Gallardo

Susana L. Gallardo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5739
susana.gallardo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Wednesdays 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM | 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM.

Photo of Carlos Garcia

Carlos E. Garcia, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor of Sociology
408-924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: On sabbatical for AY 23-24.

Photo of Bianca Hernandez

Bianca Hernandez 

Lecturer

408-924-5256

bianca.c.hernandez@sjsu.edu

DMH 221

Office Hours: Tuesdays 3:00 PM - 4:30 PM.

Photo of Karin Jeffery

Karin Jeffery, Ph.D. (she/her)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-8946
karin.jeffery@sjsu.edu
DMH 230
Office Hours: Thursdays 12:00 PM to 1:15 PM.

Spartan Spirit logo

Wayne Jopanda
Lecturer
wayne.jopanda@sjsu.edu
DMH 220
Office Hours: By appointment on Zoom.

Photo of Yvonne Kwan

Yvonne Kwan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Asian American Studies Coord.
408-924-5258
yvonne.y.kwan@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: TBA (Email for appointment)

Lawerence Lan Pic

Lawrence Lan, Ph.D.

Lecturer

408-924-4366

lawrence.lan@sjsu.edu

DMH 211

Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM.

Photo of Kerri Malloy

Kerri Malloy, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

408-924-5861

kerri.malloy@sjsu.edu

DMH 224

Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM.

   Photo of Stephen Morewitz

Stephen Morewitz, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer
408-924-5331
stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Mondays 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM.

Spartan Spirit Mark

Philip Nguyen 

Lecturer

408-924-5750

philip.nguyen01@sjsu.edu

DMH 238B

Office Hours: Wednesdays 4:30 PM - 5:30 PM and by appointment.

Photo of Trung Nguyen

Trung Nguyen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

408-924-5330
trung.p.nguyen@sjsu.edu
DMH 223

Office Hours: On sabbatical for AY 23-24.

Placeholder image for Saugher Nojan

Saugher Nojan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5340
saugher.nojan@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: TBA

 

Photo of Mark Pasion

Mark Pasion
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5335
mark.pasion@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Monday to Thursday 8:15 AM - 8:45 AM and by appointment.

 

Photo of Liz Roberts

Liz Roberts
Lecturer
408-924-5327
liz.roberts@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Mondays: 12:30 PM - 2:30 PM. | Wednesdays: 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Photo of Joanne Rondilla

Joanne Rondilla, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor
408-924-1543
joanne.rondilla@sjsu.edu
DMH 223
Office Hours: Mondays 2:00 PM - 3:30 PM on Zoom Wednesdays from 2:00 PM -3:30 PM and by appointment .

Photo of Preston Rudy

Preston O. Rudy, Ph.D. (he/him)
Assistant Professor
408-924-5333

preston.rudy@sjsu.edu

DMH 222

Office Hours: Mondays & Wednesdays 4:30 PM - 5:00 PM ; Tuesdays 10:30 AM - 11:00 AM and 8:45 PM - 9:15 PM ; and Thursdays 10:15 AM - 10:40 AM.

Photo of Morgan Sanchez

Morgan Sanchez Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

408-924-5365

morgan.sanchez@sjsu.edu

DMH 220

Office Hours: Mondays 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM (Online only) | Wednesdays 1:15 PM - 2:15 PM (In-person).

 

Photo of Elizabeth Sweet

Elizabeth Sweet, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor & Advisor
408-924-5253
elizabeth.sweet@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Class Office Hours: Wednesdays 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM in office and via Zoom 

Sociology Major/Minor Advising: Find an Appointment via Spartan Connect. 

Spartan Spirit Mark

Angela Tea

angela.tea@sjsu.edu 

408-924- 5429

DMH 210

Office Hours: Not teaching Spring 2024

Photo of Megan Thiele

Megan Thiele, Ph.D. (she/her/they/them)
Associate Professor
408-924-2975
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
DMH 224
Office Hours: Wednesdays 10:45 AM - 11:45 AM and by appointment

Photo of Yolanda Wiggins

Yolanda Wiggins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5040
yolanda.wiggins@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Mondays (via Zoom) 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM 

Spartan Spirit Mark

Kelly Zhao

Lecturer

408-924- 5429

kelly.zhao@sjsu.edu

DMH 210

Office Hours: Fridays 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM and by appointment