Faculty

 

Faculty Contact Information
garcia

Carlos E. Garcia, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor & Department Chair
408-924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
DMH 240B
Office Hours: Email for appointment

alaniz

Maria Luisa Alaniz, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5543
maria.alaniz@sjsu.edu
DMH 220
Office Hours: Email for appointment

armaline

William Armaline, Ph.D. (he/him)
Associate Professor & Director, Human Rights Institute
408-924-2935
william.armaline@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Mondays and Wednesdays 2pm-3pm

august

Amy August, Ph.D.  (she/her)

Assistant Professor & Assistand Dir., Institute for Sport, Society & Social Change (ISSSC)
408-924-4366
amy.august@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Tues. 9:00am-11:00am and by appointment. See syllabus for zoom link.  

bakhru

Tanya Bakhru, Ph.D. (she/her)
Professor & Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program Coordinator
408-924-5744
tanya.bakhru@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: On leave

bautista

Jose Bautista
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5861
jose.bautista@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours: Monday 5:00pm-6:00pm (in-person)

berney

Apryl Berney
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5750
apryl.berney@sjsu.edu
HGH 234
Office Hours: Fridays 11am-1pm and by appointment

boero

Natalie Boero, Ph.D.
Professor & Graduate Coordinator
408-924-5345
natalie.boero@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Mondays 10:15am-11:15am and by appointment 

brook

Daniel Brook, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-2914
daniel.brook@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30am-10:25 and by appointment

CASTILLO

Angela Castillo (she/her)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5593
angela.castillo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Mondays 12pm-2pm and by appointment 

choi

Soo Ho Choi, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5329
soo.choi@sjsu.edu
DMH 238
Office Hours: Email for appointment

COX

Christopher CoxSenior Lecturer
408-924-5326
christopher.cox@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Email for appointment

debourbon

Soma de Bourbon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-7747
soma.debourbon@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

dehaan jason

Jason DeHaan (he/him)
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5332
jason.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Mondays 2pm-3pm and Tuesdays 12pm-1pm

jason

Tracy DeHaan, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5592
tracy.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Wednesday 11:00am-1:00pm by appointment (zoom or phone) and Thursday 5:00pm-6:00pm (drop in zoom). Please see Canvas homepage for links.

do

Hien Duc Do, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5747
hien.do@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Mondays 12pm-1pm and by appointment

 

Dr. Faustina DuCros (she/her)
Associate Professor & Designated Sociology Advisor
408-924-5325
faustina.ducros@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours: Book a Zoom Appointment & Drop in Availability. 

 

Catherine Fung 

catherine.fung@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesdays 10am-11am and by appointment

gallardo

Susana Gallardo, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5739
susana.gallardo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Mondays 12pm-2pm

 

Bianca Hernandez 

Lecturer

408-924-5258

bianca.c.hernandez@sjsu.edu

DMH 213

Office Hours: Tuesday/Thursday 8am-9am OR 12:00pm-1:00pm or by appointment. Please email me for zoom link. 

 

Mai Hoang 

mai.hoang@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesdays 7:15pm-8:15pm 

karin

Karin Jeffery, Ph.D. (she/her)
Lecturer
408-924-8946
karin.jeffery@sjsu.edu
SPX 156
Mon & Wed 10:30-11:30am, or email for appointment.
Please email for Zoom link.

kwan

Yvonne Kwan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Asian American Studies Coord.
408-924-5258
yvonne.y.kwan@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: Monday and Wednesday 3:00pm-4:00pm. Please email me for zoom link. 

 

Dawn Lee

408-924-

dawn.leetu@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: Email for appointment

 

Steven Mejia

Assistant Professor 

408-924-5897

steven.mejia@sjsu.edu

DMH 224

Office Hours: Email for appointment

morewitz

Stephen Morewitz, Ph.D. (Dr.)

Senior Lecturer
408-924-5331
stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

myers lipton

Scott Myers-Lipton, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor
408-924-5761
smlipton@sjsu.edu
DMH 210

Office Hours: Tues/Thurs 1:15pm-2:00pm

 

Jana Ruijgrok Neubauerova
Lecturer
408-924-5429
jana.ruijgrokneubauerova@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Email for appointment

 

Philip Nguyen 

philip.nguyen01@sjsu.edu

DMH 238B

Office Hours: Email for appointment

 

trung

Trung Nguyen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

408-924-5330
trung.p.nguyen@sjsu.edu
DMH 223

Office Hours: Tuesdays and Thursdays 3pm-4pm or email for appointment

saugher

Saugher Nojan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5340
saugher.nojan@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Tuesdays 5:15pm-7:15pm (virtual) and by appointment

pasion

Mark Pasion
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5335
mark.pasion@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

 

Christina Ayson Plank (she/they)
Lecturer
408-924-5814
christina.aysonplank@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: TBD

 

Liz Roberts

Lecturer

408-924-5745

DMH 237A

Office Hours: Email for appointment

 

Meleia Simon-Reynolds (she/her)
Lecturer
408-924-5865
meleia.simon-reynolds@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: Email for appointment

 

Liz Roberts
Lecturer
408-924-5327
liz.roberts@sjsu.edu
DMH
Office Hours:

 

Mitra Rokni, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5788
mitra.rokni@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours:  Email for appointment

rondilla

Joanne Rondilla, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor
408-924-1543
joanne.rondilla@sjsu.edu
DMH 223
Office Hours: Mondays 3:30pm-5:00pm in person

rudy

Preston O. Rudy, Ph.D. (he/him)
 Assistant Professor
On leave until Fall 2023

 

Morgan Sanchez

408-924-5365

morgan.sanchez@sjsu.edu

DMH 220

Office Hours: Monday and Friday 11:30am-12:30pm (via zoom) and by appointment. Please see office hours in canvas module.

sweet

Elizabeth Sweet, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor & Advisor
408-924-5253
elizabeth.sweet@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours: Schedule a Zoom Appointment; Periodic Drop-In Hours

 

thiele

Megan Thiele, Ph.D. (she/her or they/them)
Associate Professor
408-924-2975
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
DMH 224
Office Hours: Monday 12:00pm-1:00pm. Email me for appointment; See syllabus for zoom link

wiggins

Yolanda Wiggins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5040
yolanda.wiggins@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Email for appointment