Faculty

Dr. Carlos E. GarciaCarlos E. Garcia, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor & Department Chair
408-924-5804
carlos.e.garcia@sjsu.edu
DMH 240B
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. William ArmalineWilliam Armaline, Ph.D. (he/him)
Associate Professor & Director, Human Rights Institute
408-924-2935
william.armaline@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Mon/Wed 1-2 PM or email for appt.

Dr. Amy AugustAmy August, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor & Assistand Dir., Institute for Sport, Society & Social Change (ISSSC)
amy.august@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Tanya BakhruTanya Bakhru, Ph.D. (she/her)
Professor & Women, Gender, & Sexuality Studies Program Coordinator
408-924-5744
tanya.bakhru@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: Wed 3-5 PM or email for appt.

Jose BautistaJose Bautista
Lecturer
408-924-4366
jose.bautista@sjsu.edu
DMH 216
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Apryl BerneyApryl Berney
Lecturer
408-924-5750
apryl.berney@sjsu.edu
HGH 234
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Natalie BoeroNatalie Boero, Ph.D.
Professor & Graduate Coordinator
408-924-5345
natalie.boero@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Daniel BrookDaniel Brook, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-2914
daniel.brook@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Tues/Thurs, 10–10:45 AM & 3:30–4 PM

Rachel Bryant-AndersonRachel Bryant-Anderson, Ph.D. (she/her)
Lecturer
408-924-5336
rachel.bryantanderson@sjsu.edu
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Raymand BuycoRaymand Buyco
Lecturer
408-924-5517
raymand.buyco@sjsu.edu
DMH 237B
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Jack CaravesJack Caraves, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-5365
jack.caraves@sjsu.edu
DMH 220
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Angela CastilloAngela Castillo (she/her)
Lecturer
408-924-5593
angela.castillo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Tues 10:15-11:15 AM, and by appt. Email for zoom link

Dr. Soo Ho ChoiSoo Ho Choi, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5329
soo.choi@sjsu.edu
DMH 238
Offie Hours: Email for zoom link

Dr. Peter ChuaPeter Chua, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5330
peter.chua@sjsu.edu
DMH 223
Office Hours: Tues & Thurs 12:10-1:10 PM; Zoom link

Christopher CoxChristopher Cox
Lecturer
408-924-5326
christopher.cox@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Email for appointment; zoom link is on Canvas

Dr. Soma DeBourbonSoma de Bourbon, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-7747
soma.debourbon@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

John DeGuzmanJohn DeGuzman
Lecturer
408-924-5752
john.deguzman@sjsu.edu
DMH 238B
Office Hours: Wed 5-6 PM, email for zoom link

Jason DeHaanJason DeHaan
Lecturer
408-924-5332
jason.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Wed 1-3 PM or email for Zoom appt.

Dr. Tracy DeHaanTracy DeHaan, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5592
tracy.dehaan@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Mon 1-4 PM Email for Zoom appt

Dr. Hien Duc DoHien Duc Do, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5747
hien.do@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Email for appointment, see syllabus for zoom link

Dr. Faustina DuCrosDr. Faustina DuCros (she/her)
Associate Professor & Designated Sociology Advisor
408-924-5325
faustina.ducros@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours: Book an Appointment

Dr. Susana GallardoSusana Gallardo, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5739
susana.gallardo@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: After class or email for appt.

Dr. Shahin GeramiShahin Gerami, Ph.D.
Professor
408-924-5754
shahin.gerami@sjsu.edu
DMH 238A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Walter R. JacobsWalter R. Jacobs, Ph.D.
Professor & Dean of the College of Social Sciences
408-924-5306

Karin JefferyKarin Jeffery, Ph.D. 
Lecturer
408-924-8946
karin.jeffery@sjsu.edu
SPX 156
Office Hours: Tue 9:30-11:30AM or email for appointment; see syllabi for zoom link

Dr. Yvonne KwanYvonne Kwan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor & Asian American Studies Coord.
408-924-5258
yvonne.y.kwan@sjsu.edu
DMH 213
Office Hours: Schedule an Appointment

Dawn Lee TuDawn Lee Tu, Ph.D. (she/her or they/them)
Lecturer
408-924-5356
dawn.leetu@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Email for appointment/zoom link

Dr. Stephen MorewitzStephen Morewitz, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
408-924-5331
stephen.morewitz@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Email for appointment; see syllabi for zoom link

Dr. Scott Myers-LiptonScott Myers-Lipton, Ph.D. (he/him)
Professor
408-924-5761
smlipton@sjsu.edu
DMH 210
Office Hours: Tue/Thurs 1:15-2PM at Smith/Carlos Statues

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoTrung Nguyen, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
On leave Fall 2021 & Spring 2022
trung.nguyen@sjsu.edu
DMH TBD
Office Hours: TBD

Saugher Nojan photoSaugher Nojan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-TBD
saugher.nojan@sjsu.edu
DMH 221
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Frank OrtegaFrank Ortega, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5862
frank.ortega@sjsu.edu
WSQ 216
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Mark PasionMark Pasion
Lecturer
408-924-5335
mark.pasion@sjsu.edu
DMH 237A
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoLiz Roberts
Lecturer
408-924-5327
liz.roberts@sjsu.edu
DMH
Office Hours: Wed 1:30-2:30 or email for Zoom appt.

Image of SJSU Spartan LogoMitra Rokni, Ph.D.
Lecturer
408-924-5788
mitra.rokni@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours: Mon 9:30-10:30 AM or email for appt.

Dr. Joanne RondillaJoanne Rondilla, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor
408-924-1543
joanne.rondilla@sjsu.edu
DMH 223
Office Hours: Mon 12-3 PM; Wed 4-5 PM; and by appt.

Dr. Preston O. RudyPreston O. Rudy, Ph.D. (he/him)
Assistant Professor
408-924-5333
preston.rudy@sjsu.edu
DMH 222
Office Hours: Email for appointment

Dr. Elizabeth SweetElizabeth Sweet, Ph.D. (she/her)
Assistant Professor & Advisor
408-924-5253
elizabeth.sweet@sjsu.edu
DMH 212
Office Hours: Wed 2-3 PM (for class), or for advising, Schedule an Appointment

Dr. Megan ThieleMegan Thiele, Ph.D. (she/her or they/them)
Associate Professor
408-924-2975
megan.thiele@sjsu.edu
DMH 224
Office Hours: Tues 11 AM-Noon; Zoom link

Dr. Yolanda WigginsYolanda Wiggins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
408-924-TBD
yolanda.wiggins@sjsu.edu
DMH 211
Office Hours: Email for appointment