Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity Advisory Council

The SJSU Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity (RSCA) Advisory Council provides strategic vision to advance the state of research, scholarship, and creative activities at San José State University. The RSCA Advisory Council advises the Associate Vice President for Research (AVPR), providing feedback and suggestions on RSCA-related initiatives, policies, and procedures. The Council also facilitates communications with the colleges and serves to provide the AVPR with independent reviews for limited submissions and financial conflict of interest.


The RSCA Advisory Council is comprised of one representative from each college and the university library, each appointed by their respective dean.

Representative Title College
David Czerwinksi Interim Associate Dean Business
Mark Felton Faculty Associate Dean for Research Education
Xiao Su Associate Dean, Graduate Studies & Research Engineering
Marc d’Alarcao Dean Graduate Studies
Edward Cohen Interim Associate Dean of Research and Faculty Health & Human Sciences
Jason Aleksander Associate Dean for Faculty Success and Research

Humanities and the Arts

Sandra Hirsh Associate Dean for Academics Professional and Global Education
Miri VanHoven Associate Dean of Research Science
Laxmi Ramasubramanian Associate Dean of Research 

Social Sciences

Emily Chan Associate Dean for Research and Scholarship

University Library

Meeting Protocol

The RSCA Advisory Council is chaired by the AVPR and meets monthly in the academic year, or more frequently as needed. Meetings during the summer months are held at the discretion of the Council.


If you have any items or topics you would like to bring before the RSCA Advisory Council, please contact the AVPR at