Board and Committees

About the Student Union, Inc.

The Student Union, Inc. is a non-profit corporation, that maintains two major facilities at San José State University in downtown San José, California. These facilities include the Diaz Compean Student Union Building and the Spartan Recreation and Aquatic Center.

The corporation is completely self-supporting, and receives no tax dollar support from the State of California or the California State University system. The Student Union, Inc. functions as part of the Student Affairs Division on campus, and is governed by a Board of Directors made up of a student majority, faculty, and administrators.

Board of Directors

The Student Union, Inc. Board of Directors is the general governing and policy-making body for the Student Union, Inc. It is a recommending body to the University President in terms of policy, the annual budget, and appropriate personnel matters as covered in the By-laws. The Executive Director manages the facilities, programs, and financial enterprises within the policies approved for the corporation by the Board.

The Board of Directors is an 14-member Board with a majority of students, 8 Student Directors and the Associated Students President or their designee.

Any matriculated students attending San José State University with a GPA of 2.5 and above and are enrolled in a minimum of 6.0 units are eligible to serve on the Student Union, Inc. Board of Directors. Eligible students selected for Board membership will serve a minimum of two (2) years.  

Agendas and Minutes