The Teacher Education faculty are committed to providing the highest quality education to the candidates in our program. Our courses focus on helping candidates understand research and theory in education as they relate to the daily professional experiences of teachers. We model best practices by providing a strong, student-centered curriculum with an emphasis on ongoing formative feedback to help candidates grow into the profession.

Department Chair

David Whitenack, Ph.D.

David Whitenack

Teacher Education Program Coordinators and Advising

Secondary/SSCP Subject Area Coordinators

Contact your Subject Area Advisor to schedule an appointment to complete the following requirements.

NOTE: The process and availability for each advisor will vary. These meetings are an essential step in the application process and require planning.

  • Please plan interview appointments at least 3 weeks prior to the application deadline.
  • Some subject areas have specific windows in which they conduct interviews, mini lessons, portfolio reviews or auditions.
  • English, in particular, has an early deadline for signing up for interviews that may be 5-6 weeks prior to the admission deadline.


Faculty Directory

LoriAnn Abrahams

Katya Aguilar, Ph.D.

Katya Aguilar

Stefanie Aichele-Chang

Mariana Alwell

Jolynn Asato, Ph.D.

Jolynn Asato

Heidi Beck

Katie Bell

  • Lecturer

Shannon Bui

Ashley Busby

Louise Bernbaum

Allison Briceño, Ed.D.

Allison Briceño

Robert Calonico

Paulette Cobb

Laurel Cress

Elaine Chin, Ph.D.

Elaine Chin

Kristy Cross

Jennifer Diehl

Brent Duckor, Ph.D.

Brent Duckor

Lisa Edsall Giglio

Mark Felton, Ph.D.

Mark Felton

Asha Finkel

Nancy Freschi

Ednita Fuentes-Mortenson

Terri Furton

  • Lecturer

Melissa Gonzalez

  • Lecturer

Janet Gutierrez 

Maryann Haggerty

Carol Hartunian

Christina Hewko

Janice Holly

Carrie Holmberg, Ed.D.

Carrie Holmberg

Amy Huang

Jonathan Hubbs

Suzanne Hughes

Salvador Huitzilopochtli

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio, D.M.A.

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio

Jan Kaay

Nora Lang 

Lara Ervin-Kassab, Ed.D.

Lara Ervin-Kassab

Jennifer Madigan, Ed.D.

Jennifer Madigan

Jila Maleksalehi, Ed.D.

Jila Maleksalehi

Roxana Marachi, Ph.D.

Roxana Marachi

Tiffani Marie, Ph.D.

Tiffani Marie

Kellie Martinico

  • Lecturer

Ralph McKay, Ed.D.

Ralph McKay

Marianne Mehuys

Rebecca Messina

Daniela Miranda

Katie Mlakar

Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz, Ph.D.

Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz

Deb Nemecek

Paula Oakes

Paula Oakes

Kris Olson

Sara Perez

Chiara Perry 

Tatiana Pineda

  • Lecturer

Luis Poza, Ph.D.

Luis Poza

Colette Rabin, Ed.D.

Colette Rabin

Ana Ramirez

Nicky Ramos-Beban

Kathryn Ribay 

Rebeca Rios

Rosalinda Rocha

Berrnadette Rodriguez-Young

Heather Schlaman

Heidi Schmittel

Rebecca Setziol

Helen Smith

Tasha Snow 

Elizabeth Stavis  

Grinell Smith, Ph.D.

Grinell Smith

Patricia (Patty) Swanson, Ph.D.

Patty Swanson

Shawn Vecellio, Ph.D.

Tammie Visintainer, Ph.D.

Tammie Visintainer

Wanda Watson, Ed.D.

Wanda Watson

Laurie Weckesser

Amber Woodward

Sandra Zuniga Ruiz 

Recent Faculty Highlights

Brent Duckor and Carrie Holmberg

Dr. Brent Duckor and Dr. Carrie Holmberg co-presented “Continuous Improvement Through Improved Formative Feedback Practices: Progress Guides as Tools for Equity-Based Instruction and Scaffolds for Deeper Learning” with Shannon Soza, Principal, and George MacArthur, Teacher, of the Mount Pleasant Elementary School District, and Amanda Faulkner of Partners in Schools at the 100th Annual California Educational Research Association Conference “Reimagining Education - Using Data and Evidence to Reshape our Future.” 

Dr. Allison Briceño has co-authored a forthcoming book, Conscious Classrooms: Using Diverse Texts for Inclusion, Equity and Justice Professional Development, which has been written to help teachers to include diverse texts and to support them in developing an equity lens in the classroom.

Roxana Marachi

Dr. Roxana Marachi was quoted in the article "Instagram and teens: How to keep your kids safe" by the Associated Press.

Tammie Visintainer

Dr. Tammie Visintainer has become a Co-PI for a newly-received $600,000 National Science Foundation (NSF) Research Experiences for Teachers (RET) in Engineering and Computer Science award for the project "Multidisciplinary Teacher Research Experience in Engineering (M-TREE)."

Allison Briceño and Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz

Dr. Allison Briceño and Dr. Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz co-published "It Is Not If, But When: Organizational and Leadership Recommendations for The Upcoming Demand for Expanded Dl Programs and Their Articulation" in the Journal for Leadership, Equity, and Research.

Asha Sudra Poet Laureate

Multiple Subject Credential Program Supervisor and Lecturer Asha Sudra Finkel has been selected as September’s honorary poet laureate for Santa Clara County!  Learn more about the Santa Clara County Poet Laureate program at svcreates.org/poet-laureate-program/

Dr. Lara Ervin Kassab presented "Considering Community and Trauma" as part of the SJSU Lurie College of Education K-12 Teaching Academy and was subsequently featured in a Q&A on the SJSU Newsroom blog regarding how educators and parents can prepare for the 2021-2022 academic year after a year of remote and hybrid teaching and learning.

Dr. Wanda Watson co-presented "Bringing Our Humanity to the TK-5 Classroom Through an Ethnic Studies Stance" as part of the SJSU Lurie College of Education K-12 Teaching Academy.

Dr. Tammie Visintainer presented "Reimagining K-16 (Science) Teaching and Learning During a Time of Crisis" as part of the SJSU Lurie College of Education K-12 Teaching Academy.

Dr. Brent Duckor and Counselor Education faculty Dr. Lorri Capizzi co-presented the webinar “How can Teachers, School Counselors, & Administrators support educational outcomes for students in foster care during extraordinary times?” as part of their SJSU Center for Collaborative Research Excellence in Education (CCREE) and in collaboration with the CSU Center for Closing the Opportunity Gap (CCOG).

Dr. Allison Briceño and Dr. Roxana Marachi presented “Teaching Pre-service Teachers to Enact Culturally Sustaining Pedagogy: Shifting Critical Consciousness” and “Philanthro-Capitalism and Equity Doublespeak: When ‘Innovation’ is Exploitation and Silicon Solutions Fuel Next Level Systemic Racism” at our Spring 2021 Lurie College of Education Faculty Research Symposium

Dr. Luis Poza, Dr. Eduardo Muñoz-Muñoz, and Dr. Tammie Visintainer collaborated with SJSU faculty Dr. Ahoura Zandiatashbar, California Assemblymember Robert Rivas, and the Watsonville High School ECHO Leadership Academy to better understand the impact of known gaps in broadband internet access across California’s 30th Congressional District and published a report of their findings.

Faculty Resources