John L. McLemore Scholarship

(2) $2,300 scholarships awarded annually

The John L. McLemore Scholarships are awarded annually to two students who have declared a major in political science. The students will have completed a minimum of 60 units by the start of the next academic year following the award. These scholarships are intended for students who have demonstrated significant financial need. Preference will be given to students who are first in their families to attend a university.

John McLemore received his Bachelors and Masters degrees in Political Science from San Jose State University in the early 1970’s. He graduated with a heavy student loan burden since he had minimum family financial support. Mr. McLemore had a successful 38-year career in the electronics industry. He served as a member of the Santa Clara City Council, the chairman of the Caltrain Joint Powers Board, and as vice-chairman of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission. He is a long time supporter of the Department's Alumni Association.

Past Recipients

Bryson Burrows, 2024
Gabriel Evans, 2024
Caitlynn Nguyen, 2023
Gabriel Evans, 2023
Denisse Velasco, 2022
Ximena Gomero, 2022
Brenda Vargas-Tapia, 2021
Nika Noorishad, 2021
Nicole Dioquino, 2020
Yaneth Gutierrez, 2020
Daniel Ubaldo, 2019
Karina Terrazas Flores, 2018