Meet the Team

Our team encompasses expertise in strategic communications and media relations, editorial content and news, digital marketing, advertising, web and digital communications, alumni magazine, and visual communication and design, photography and videography, and executive communications.


Strategic Communications and Marketing Leadership 

Provides vision and direction for university-wide strategic communications and marketing, and oversees internal and external communications that enhance the university's goals, mission and brand equity.

Christine Hutchins
Senior Associate Vice President, Strategic Communications and Marketing
christine.hutchins@sjsu.edu
408-924-1141 

Kamryn Williams
Administrative Assistant / Project Management Specialist
kamryn.williams@sjsu.edu


Strategic Communications and Media Relations, Editorial Content and News 

Media relations, crisis communications and reputation management, including the development of university statements and key messages to news media worldwide through relationships with local, national and international media outlets. Campus-wide storytelling, including: editorial content and news; brand messaging, style and writing guidelines; strategic communications and content strategy for SJSU’s enterprise-wide print and digital platforms. 

Kenneth Mashinchi
Senior Director of Strategic Communications and Media Relations
kenneth.mashinchi@sjsu.edu
408-924-1748

Robin McElhatton
Assistant Director of Media Relations
robin.mcelhatton@sjsu.edu
408-924-1749

Tiffany Harbrecht
Assistant Director of Editorial Content and News 
News beats: Business, Professional and Global Education, Office of the Provost
tiffany.harbrecht@sjsu.edu

Brett Bralley
University Writer and Copy Editor 
News beats: Research and Innovation, Science, Engineering, Health and Human Sciences
brett.bralley@sjsu.edu

Julia Halprin Jackson
University Writer and Copy Editor 
News beats: Humanities & Arts, Social Science, Education and Student Affairs
juliah.jackson@sjsu.edu


Digital Marketing and Web Communications

Digital marketing and communications strategy, brand messaging, content marketing, website design, SJSU web guidelines, social media engagement, email marketing, digital campaigns, display and video advertising, paid search, SEO and analytics. 

Anna Augustowska
Director of Digital Marketing and Communications
anna.augustowska@sjsu.edu

Alice Nguyen
Assistant Director of Web Development, UX and Content
alice.nguyen02@sjsu.edu

Monica Bosque
University Web and User Experience Designer
monica.bosque@sjsu.edu

Jennifer Gonzalez-Arias
Digital Marketing and Communications Specialist
jennifer.gonzalez-arias@sjsu.edu


Visual Communication and Design

Visual storytelling and design strategy, creative support for faculty and staff, SJSU visual identity and guidelines, campus-branded spaces, events and affiliate visual resources, professional video, photography, project requests, lockup requests, and brand permissions.

Michelle Frey
Senior Director of Creative Strategy
michelle.frey@sjsu.edu
408-924-1474

Roman Goshev
Production Manager
roman.goshev@sjsu.edu
408-924-1171

Tala Kawar
Senior Visual Designer and Art Director
tala.kawar@sjsu.edu

Pourya Nadimi
Visual Communications Designer
pourya.nadimi@sjsu.edu

Javier Duarte
Senior Multimedia Production Specialist
javier.duarte@sjsu.edu

Keith Sanders
Multimedia Producer
keith.sanders@sjsu.edu

Robert Bain
University Photographer
robert.bain@sjsu.edu


Executive Communications

Development of executive communications and thought leadership content and materials for the Office of the President, including speeches, blog posts, presentations, website content, op-eds and social media posts.

Mike Janes
Director of Executive Communications
mike.janes@sjsu.edu
408-924-1116