About Us

A picture of the exterior of Hugh Gillis Hall building.

Established in 1963, the Department of Communication Studies at San José State University has more than 640 students in the major, 40 students minoring in communication, 26 students in the graduate program, 6 teaching associates, 13 tenured and tenure-track faculty, and 52 lecturers.

Listen, Speak, Engage

The COMM Department prides itself on its motto of "Listen, Speak, and Engage." The department's mission is to educate individuals in competent and ethical communication for meaningful participation in diverse local and global communities.