Faculty/Staff Directory

Meet the Department of Communication Studies faculty and staff!

Below is a full directory complete with contact information and office hours. We look forward to connecting with you.

If you are looking specifically for COMM faculty who teach and mentor Master's students, please visit our Graduate Faculty Directory page.

As you prepare to contact our faculty and staff, please know that...

  • Office hours are student hours; we have set aside this time for you.
  • You don't have to be taking a class with us to use our office hours. 
  • You can attend office hours for many reasons, even just for a chat. 
  • We do office hours by appointment, too. If our posted hours don't work for you, please email us to set something up.

     

    Spring 2022 Office Hours

    *Please read carefully regarding virtual/in-person office hours. Faculty who opt to hold in-person office hours will do so once in-person instruction is permitted.

   COMM Faculty/Staff Contact & Office Hours (PST)
 A headshot picture of Anum Ahmed.

Anum Ahmed

Lecturer

anum.ahmed@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12-1 PM via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.

 A headshot picture of Vivian Antonellis.

Vivian Antonellis

Senior Lecturer

vivian.antonellis@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 9:45-10:30 AM via Zoom or HGH 259.

Please email for appointment information.

head shot of Bair

Philip Bair

Lecturer

philip.bair@sjsu.edu

Mondays and Wednesdays, 2:45 PM - 3:45 PM via Zoom

 

 head shot of biagini

Joe Biagini

Senior Lecturer

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 10:00-11:00am via Zoom.

 A headshot picture of Bettina Brockmann.

Bettina Brockmann

Senior Lecturer

bettina.brockmann@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 9:00-10:00 AM

Please email for ZOOM information.

 headshot image of C. Burks

Courtney Burks

Lecturer

courtney.burks@sjsu.edu

Mondays, 2:00-3:00 PM & by appointment via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Arjun Buxi.

Arjun Buxi

Senior Lecturer

arjun.buxi@sjsu.edu

Mondays 3:00-4:00 PM, see Zoom link on course homepage. 

headshot image of K. Cannava

Kaitlin Cannava

Lecturer

kaitlin.cannava@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 11:00am-12:00pm via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

James Capurso

Lecturer

james.capurso@sjsu.edu

Mondays 3:00-4:00 PM via Zoom.

Please email to schedule an appointment.

 spirit_mark

Spencer Choate

Teaching Associate

spencer.choate@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 12:00-1:00 PM via Zoom.

Please email to schedule an appointment.

A headshot picture of Roxanne Cnudde.

Roxanne Cnudde

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Director

roxanne.cnudde@sjsu.edu

Wednesday
11:00AM-12:00 PM via Zoom or HGH 237 

 

head shot of Coburn-Palo

Nicholas Coburn-Palo 

Lecturer

nicholas.coburn-palo@sjsu.edu

Thursday 6:00-8:00 PM via Zoom.

Please email for appointment information or refer to syllabus or Canvas.

A headshot picture of Kristen Cole.

Kristen Cole

Assistant Professor

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

Monday 5:00-6:00 PM in-person HGH 210
& Wednesday 2:00-3:00 PM via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link. 

A headshot picture of Stephanie Coopman.

Stephanie Coopman

Professor

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

Please email for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Patricia Daley-Harms.

Patricia Daley-Harms

Lecturer

patricia.daley-harms@sjsu.edu

Mondays and Wednesdays from 5:30-6:30 PM via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.

A headshot picture of Stephen Eckstone.

Stephen Eckstone

Senior Lecturer

stephen.eckstone@sjsu.edu

Monday and Wednesday
1:00-2:00 PM at DBH 127. 

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Gina Firenzi

Senior Lecturer

gina.firenzi@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 8:00-10:00 AM via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.

A headshot picture of David Galan

David Galan

Senior Lecturer

david.galan@sjsu.edu

Thursday & Friday
5:30-6:00pm via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Ge Gao.

Ge Gao

Professor

ge.gao@sjsu.edu

Thursday 5:00-7:00 PM via Zoom.

Please email for appointment information.

head shot of Tyler Gidney

Tyler Gidney

Lecturer

frank.gidney@sjsu.edu 

Thursday 8:00-9:00 AM via Zoom

A headshot picture of Felipe Gomez.

Felipe Gómez

Associate Professor
& Co-Chair

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

Thursday 3:00-5:00pm

Via Zoom or HGH 207.
Please email for Zoom link.

A headshot picture of Rona Halulani.

Rona Halualani

Professor

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment information and/or refer to info on Canvas and syllabus. 

head shot of harris

Elizabeth Harris

Senior Lecturer

elizabeth.harris@sjsu.edu

Monday & Wednesday
2:00-3:00 PM via Zoom:
ID 824 8778 5476
Passcode 020446

or HGH 209. 

A headshot picture of Tabitha Hart.

Tabitha Hart

Associate Professor
GTA Program Director

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

Via Zoom, please email for information.

head shot of Hasan

Zaki Hasan

Senior Lecturer

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu

Via Zoom, please email for an appointment. 

A headshot picture of Lucas Hatton.

Lucas Hatton

Lecturer

lucas.hatton@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 10:00-11:30 AM Thursdays 10:00-10:30 AM

Via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Oona Hatton.

Oona Hatton

Assistant Professor
Graduate Coordinator

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 9:00-10:00am
Thursday 1:00-2:00pm

via Zoom or HGH 204.

A headshot picture of Marie Haverfield.

Marie Haverfield

Assistant Professor

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 12:00-2:00 PM via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Minna Holopainen.

Minna Holopainen

Senior Lecturer
Social Media Team Director

minna.holopainen@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 4:50-5:50 PM via Zoom or HGH 201.

A headshot picture of Anya Iyengar.

Anya Iyengar

Senior Lecturer

anya.iyengar@sjsu.edu

Tuesday and Thursday 9:00-10:00 AM via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.

A headshot picture of Kyle Johnson.

Kyle Johnson

Lecturer

kyle.johnson@sjsu.edu

Tuesday and Wednesday
2:00-3:00 PM via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.

A headshot picture of Jean-Pierre Lacrampe.

J.P. Lacrampe

Senior Lecturer

jean-pierre.lacrampe@sjsu.edu

Via Zoom, please email for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Scott Laczko.

Scott Laczko

Lecturer
Director of Forensics

scott.laczko@sjsu.edu

Tuesday & Thursday
12:00-1:30 PM via Zoom

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Brohne Lawhorne

Senior Lecturer

brohne.lawhorne@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 6:00-7:00 PM

Please contact via Canvas for appointment information. 

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tina Lim

Senior Lecturer

tina.lim@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 11:00 AM-12:00 PM

Via Zoom or HGH 214
please see calendar or email for information.

headshot image of J. Loos

Joanne Loos

Lecturer

joanne.loos@sjsu.edu

Monday 12:00-1:00 PM via Zoom, please email for information.

head shot of Mathews

Amarissa Mathews

Lecturer

amarissa.mathews@sjsu.edu

Monday & Wednesday
3:00-5:00 PM via Zoom, please email at least 48 hours in advance to set up a meeting.

A headshot picture of Kathleen McConell.

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

On Sabbatical Spring 2022, please email about availability.

A headshot picture of Sarah McGaffey

Sarah McGaffey

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Staff

sarah.mcgaffey@sjsu.edu

Tuesday & Thursday
12:30-1:00 PM via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Morgan McKnight

Morgan McKnight

Lecturer

morgan.mcknight@sjsu.edu

Friday 7:30-8:00 AM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Beth McMurray

Lecturer

elizabeth.mcmurray@sjsu.edu

Via Zoom, please email for an appointment.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Cristina Mejia-Salinas

Lecturer

diana.mejiasalinas@sjsu.edu

Email for an appointment via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Angie Mendoza.

Angie Mendoza

Teaching Associate

angie.m.mendoza@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 4:30-5:30 PM.

Via Zoom, please email for information.

 A headshot of Nikki Mirza

Nikki Mirza

Staff: Administrative Analyst

nikki.mirza@sjsu.edu

In person hours: 
Tues: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Thurs: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Available remotely: 
Mon: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Wed: 8:00am - 5:00pm

head shot of karina momary

Karina Momary

Lecturer

karina.momary@sjsu.edu

Via Zoom or phone, please see Calendly for appointment times.

A headshot picture of Jennifer Morrison

Jennifer Morrison

Senior Lecturer
Internship Program Director

jennifer.morrison@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 9:00-10:30 AM, via Zoom, please see link in Canvas.

A headshot picture of Rahmon Pashtunyar.

Rahmon Pashtunyar

Lecturer

rahmon.pashtunyar@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 5:00-6:00 PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Nico Peck

Nico Peck

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Staff

nico.peck@sjsu.edu 

Wednesday 11:00-11:50 AM via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Carol Lynn Perez.

Carol Lynn Perez

Senior Lecturer

carol-lynn.perez@sjsu.edu

Tuesday 2:00-4:00 PM via Zoom.

A headshot picture of Dana Pozzi.

Dana Pozzi

Senior Lecturer

dana.morella@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment via Zoom.

head shot erica pulley

Erica Pulley

Lecturer

erica.pulley@sjsu.edu

Email for an appointment via Zoom.

Ashiyan Rahmani

Ashiyan Rahmani

Lecturer

ashiyan.rahmani@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 3:00-4:00 PM via Zoom.

headshot image of K. Raiff

Kathleen Raiff

Senior Lecturer

kathleen.raiff@sjsu.edu

Tuesday & Thursday, please message in Canvas for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Priya Raman.

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

Not teaching Spring 2022.

Please email for an appointment.

Head shot of Ramos

David Ramos

Lecturer

david.a.ramos@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 10:30-11:30 PM
HGH 259

A headshot picture of Leif Rogers.

Leif Rogers

Lecturer

leif.rogers@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 4:00-5:00 PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

headshot image of R. Simpson

Raissa Simpson

Lecturer

raissa.simpson@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 2:00-3:00 PM via Zoom or HGH 250 please email for appointment information.

spartan spirit image

Sofia Skavdahl

Staff: Administrative Support Coordinator

sofia.skavdahl@sjsu.edu

In person hours:
Mon: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Tues: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Wed: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Available remotely:
Thurs: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm

A headshot picture of Matthew Spangler

Matthew Spangler

Professor
Interim Chair, Film and Theatre Department

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

Not teaching Spring 2022. 

Please email for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Shawn Spano

Shawn Spano

Professor

shawn.spano@sjsu.edu

Wednesday 5:45-6:45 PM via Zoom or HGH 211

A headshot picture of Mary Anne Sunseri

Mary Anne Sunseri

Senior Lecturer

mary.sunseri@sjsu.edu

Mondays 1:00-3:00 PM 
via Zoom

A headshot picture of Ching Ching Tan

Ching Ching Tan

Senior Lecturer

chingching.tan@sjsu.edu

20N: Wed 200-2:30PM via Zoom
110F: Wed 2:30 - 3:00PM via Zoom

head shot of ulate 

Jody Ulate

Lecturer

jody.ulate@sjsu.edu

Monday 1:00-2:00 PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

Head shot of Walsh

Lindsay Walsh

Lecturer

lindsay.walsh@sjsu.edu

Monday 11:00 AM-12:00 PM via Zoom
Meeting ID: 728 8280 6583
Passcode: FfMv45

A headshot picture of Shannon Waltrip-Sequiera.

Shannon Waltrip-Sequeira

Senior Lecturer

shannon.waltrip-sequeira@sjsu.edu

Tuesday and Thursday
3:00-4:00 PM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Kendall Ward

Kendall Ward

Senior Lecturer

kendall.ward@sjsu.edu

Monday 10:30-11:40 AM, via Zoom.

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Kathy Werking

Kathy Werking

Senior Lecturer

kathy.werking@sjsu.edu

Please email for a Zoom or phone call appointment.

A headshot picture of Karen Williams.

Karen Williams

Senior Lecturer

karen.williams@sjsu.edu

Monday
7:15-7:30AM
8:45-9:00AM
11:30AM-12:00PM; all via Zoom or HGH 208. Please email for appointment.

Headshot Dr. Andrew F. Wood

Andrew Wood

Professor
Department Chair

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

Please email for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Kim Yee.

Kim Yee

Lecturer

kim.yee@sjsu.edu

Tuesday & Thursday
10:30-11:30 AM, via Zoom.

Please email for Zoom link.