Faculty/Staff Directory

Meet the Department of Communication Studies faculty and staff!

Below is a full directory complete with contact information and office hours. We look forward to connecting with you.

If you are looking specifically for COMM faculty who teach and mentor Master's students, please visit our Graduate Faculty Directory page.

As you prepare to contact our faculty and staff, please know that...

  • Office hours are student hours; we have set aside this time for you.
  • You don't have to be taking a class with us to use our office hours. 
  • You can attend office hours for many reasons, even just for a chat. 
  • We do office hours by appointment, too. If our posted hours don't work for you, please email us to set something up.

     

    Fall 2022 Office Hours 

    *Please read carefully regarding virtual/in-person office hours. 

   COMM Faculty/Staff Contact & Office Hours (PST)
 A headshot picture of Vivian Antonellis.

Vivian Antonellis

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

vivian.antonellis@sjsu.edu

Mondays & Wednesdays 10:00-10:30AM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot of Alejandro Artiga-Purcell

Alejandro Artiga-Purcell

(He/Him)

Assistant Professor

alejandro.artiga-purcell@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays & Thursdays
2:00-3:00PM

Please email for appointment.

head shot of Bair

Philip Bair

Lecturer

philip.bair@sjsu.edu

Mondays 5:45-6:45PM

Please email for appointment.

 

 head shot of biagini

Joe Biagini

Senior Lecturer

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 9:00-10:00 AM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

 A headshot picture of Bettina Brockmann.

Bettina Brockmann

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

bettina.brockmann@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 9:00-10:00AM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A Spartan Logo

Stephan Brooks

(He/Him)

Graduate Teaching Assistant

stephan.brooks@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 1:45-2:45PM

Please email for appointment.

 headshot image of C. Burks

Courtney Burks

(She/Her)

Lecturer

courtney.burks@sjsu.edu

Thursdays, 12:00-1:00 PM, Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Arjun Buxi.

Arjun Buxi

Senior Lecturer

arjun.buxi@sjsu.edu

Mondays 5:00-6:00PM

Via Zoom, please see Canvas for information. 

 

headshot image of K. Cannava

Kaitlin Cannava

Lecturer

kaitlin.cannava@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 10:00-11:00AM

Please email for appointment.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

James Capurso

Lecturer

james.capurso@sjsu.edu

Mondays 3:00-4:00PM

Please email for appointment.

 A headshot of Spencer Choate

Spencer Choate

Graduate Teaching Associate

spencer.choate@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 10:00-11:00AM Thursdays 11:00AM-12:00PM

Please email for an appointment.

 

A headshot picture of Roxanne Cnudde.

Roxanne Cnudde

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer
Director of the COMM Center

roxanne.cnudde@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 1:00 - 2:00 PM Wednesdays 11:00AM - 12PM via Zoom.

 

head shot of Coburn-Palo

Nicholas Coburn-Palo 

Lecturer

nicholas.coburn-palo@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 5:30-7:00PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Kristen Cole.

Kristen Cole

(She/Her)

Assistant Professor

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 3:00-5:00 PM

Please email for appointment. 

 

A headshot picture of Stephanie Coopman.

Stephanie Coopman

Professor

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Patricia Daley-Harms.

Patricia Daley-Harms

Lecturer

patricia.daley-harms@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays from 4:30-6:30PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Gina Firenzi

Senior Lecturer

gina.firenzi@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of David Galan

David Galan

Senior Lecturer

david.galan@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Ge Gao.

Ge Gao

Professor

ge.gao@sjsu.edu

Mondays 5:00-7:00 PM 

Please email for appointment.

head shot of Tyler Gidney

Tyler Gidney

(He/Him)

Lecturer

frank.gidney@sjsu.edu 

Mondays 8:30-9:30AM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Felipe Gomez.

Felipe Gómez

(He/Him)

Associate Professor

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays and Thursdays 10:30-11:00AM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Rona Halulani.

Rona Halualani

(She/Her)

Professor

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

head shot of harris

Elizabeth Harris

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

elizabeth.harris@sjsu.edu

Mondays & Wednesdays 10:30-11:30 AM, please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Tabitha Hart.

Tabitha Hart

Professor
GTA Program Director

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

Tuesday and Thursday afternoons

Via Zoom, please email for information.

head shot of Hasan

Zaki Hasan

Senior Lecturer

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Lucas Hatton.

Lucas Hatton

(He/Him)

Lecturer

lucas.hatton@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:30-11:30AM, Wednesdays 4:30-5:30PM

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

A headshot picture of Oona Hatton.

Oona Hatton

Assistant Professor

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

On Sabbatical FA 22

A headshot of Chloe

Chloe Huynh

(She/Her)

Graduate Teaching Associate

chloe.huynh@sjsu.edu

Mondays & Wednesdays 10:30-11:00AM

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

A headshot picture of Marie Haverfield.

Marie Haverfield

(She/Her)

Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Director

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

Teaching Office Hours: Tuesdays 9:00-11:00AM via Zoom
Graduate Student Advising: Thursdays 10:00AM-12:00PM via Zoom

A headshot picture of Minna Holopainen.

Minna Holopainen

Senior Lecturer
Social Media Team Director

minna.holopainen@sjsu.edu

Mondays 5:00–6:00 PM

Via Zoom & in person, please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Anya Iyengar.

Anya Iyengar

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

anya.iyengar@sjsu.edu

Mondays & Wednesdays
10:00AM-12:00PM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Kyle Johnson.

Kyle Johnson

(He/Him)

Lecturer

kyle.johnson@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays & Thursdays 9:00AM-10:00AM

Please email for appointment.

 

A Spartan Logo

Shayla Kennedy

Graduate Teaching Associate

shayla.kennedy@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 10:00-11:00AM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Jean-Pierre Lacrampe.

J.P. Lacrampe

Senior Lecturer

jean-pierre.lacrampe@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays, 8:00-9:00AM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Scott Laczko.

Scott Laczko

Lecturer
Director of Forensics

scott.laczko@sjsu.edu

 

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tina Lim

Senior Lecturer

tina.lim@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 3:00-4:00PM
Wednesdays & Thursdays by appointment.

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

headshot image of J. Loos

Joanne Loos

Lecturer

joanne.loos@sjsu.edu

Mondays 1:30-2:30PM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Kathleen McConell.

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Mondays 3:00-4:00 PM via Zoom

A headshot picture of Sarah McGaffey

Sarah McGaffey

(She/They)

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Staff

sarah.mcgaffey@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays & Thursdays 12:30-1:00PM
Wednesdays 3:00-4:00PM

Via Zoom 

A headshot picture of Morgan McKnight

Morgan McKnight

Lecturer

morgan.mcknight@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:30-11:30AM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Beth McMurray

Senior Lecturer

elizabeth.mcmurray@sjsu.edu

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Cristina Mejia-Salinas

Lecturer

diana.mejiasalinas@sjsu.edu

 

 A headshot of Nikki Mirza

Nikki Mirza

Staff: Administrative Analyst

nikki.mirza@sjsu.edu

Mon-Thur: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Available remotely Fri 8:00-5:00pm

head shot of karina momary

Karina Momary

(She/Her)

Lecturer

karina.momary@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays & Thursdays by Appointment

Book your Appointment

A headshot picture of Jennifer Morrison

Jennifer Morrison

(They/Them)

Senior Lecturer
Internship Program Director

jennifer.morrison@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 9:00-10:30AM

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

A headshot of Nancy Park

Nancy Park

(She/Her)

Lecturer

nancy.park@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 4:30-5:30PM 

Via Zoom, please email for information. 

A headshot picture of Rahmon Pashtunyar.

Rahmon Pashtunyar

(He/Him)

Lecturer

rahmon.pashtunyar@sjsu.edu

Mondays 12:20-1:20PM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Nico Peck

Nico Peck

(They/Them)

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Staff

nico.peck@sjsu.edu 

Wednesdays,12:00-1:00PM

Via Zoom

A headshot picture of Carol Lynn Perez.

Carol-Lynn Perez

Senior Lecturer

carol-lynn.perez@sjsu.edu

Tuesday's 2:00-4:00 PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Dana Pozzi.

Dana Pozzi

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

dana.morella@sjsu.edu

Mondays 8:45-9:15PM

Please email for appointment.

Ashiyan Rahmani

Ashiyan Rahmani

Lecturer

ashiyan.rahmani@sjsu.edu

 

headshot image of K. Raiff

Kathleen Raiff

Senior Lecturer

kathleen.raiff@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Priya Raman.

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

 

Head shot of Ramos

David Ramos

Lecturer

david.a.ramos@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays & Thursdays
9:00-10:00AM

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Leif Rogers.

Leif Rogers

(He/Him)

Lecturer

leif.rogers@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 4:00-5:00PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A headshot picture of Matthew Spangler

Matthew Spangler

Professor
Interim Chair, Film and Theatre Department

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Mary Anne Sunseri

Mary Anne Sunseri

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

mary.sunseri@sjsu.edu

Mondays & Wednesdays
10:30 - 11:30AM

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

A headshot picture of Ching Ching Tan

Ching Ching Tan

Senior Lecturer

chingching.tan@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot of Julie Terebkov

Julie Terebkov

(She/Her)

Graduate Teaching Associate

julie.terebkov@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 12:30-1:30 PM

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

head shot of ulate 

Jody Ulate

Lecturer

jody.ulate@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays, 3:00-4:00PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

A Spartan Logo

Leigh Via

(She/Her)

Graduate Teaching Associate

leigh.via@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 3:00-4:00 PM

Via Zoom, please email for information.

Head shot of Walsh

Lindsay Walsh

(She/Her)

Lecturer

lindsay.walsh@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 11:00AM-12:00PM

Via Zoom

A headshot picture of Kendall Ward

Kendall Ward

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

kendall.ward@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

 

A headshot picture of Kathy Werking

Kathy Werking

Senior Lecturer

kathy.werking@sjsu.edu

 

A headshot picture of Karen Williams.

ren (Karen) Williams

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

karen.williams@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:00AM-10:30AM (virtual)

Mondays 4:00PM - 4:30PM (in person)

Please refer to info on syllabus or Canvas.

Headshot Dr. Andrew F. Wood

Andrew Wood

Professor
Department Chair

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

Please email for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Kim Yee.

Kim Yee

(She/Her)

Lecturer

kim.yee@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays & Thursdays

10:30-11:30AM

Via Zoom