Faculty/Staff Directory

Meet the Department of Communication Studies faculty and staff!

Below is a full directory complete with contact information and office hours. We look forward to connecting with you.

If you are looking specifically for COMM faculty who teach and mentor Master's students, please visit our Graduate Faculty Directory page.

As you prepare to contact our faculty and staff, please know that...

  • Office hours are student hours; we have set aside this time for you.
  • You don't have to be taking a class with us to use our office hours. 
  • You can attend office hours for many reasons, even just for a chat. 
  • We do office hours by appointment, too. If our posted hours don't work for you, please email us to set something up.

     

    Spring 2023 Office Hours 

    *Please read carefully regarding virtual/in-person office hours. 

    **Spring 2023 office hours will be listed by January 27th.
   COMM Faculty/Staff Contact & Office Hours (PST)
 A headshot picture of Vivian Antonellis.

Vivian Antonellis

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

vivian.antonellis@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10am - 10:30am
in person
Wednesdays 10am - 10:30am 
via Zoom

A headshot of Alejandro Artiga-Purcell

Alejandro  Artiga-Purcell

(He/Him)

Assistant Professor

alejandro.artiga-purcell@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 1pm - 3pm

head shot of Bair

Philip Bair

Lecturer

philip.bair@sjsu.edu

Mondays 11am - noon 
Mondays 5:45pm - 6:45pm

 

 head shot of biagini

Joe Biagini

Senior Lecturer

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:30am - 11:30am
via Zoom

 A headshot picture of Bettina Brockmann.

Bettina Brockmann

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

bettina.brockmann@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 9am - 10am
and via Zoom by appointment.

A headshot picture of Arjun Buxi.

Arjun Buxi

Senior Lecturer

arjun.buxi@sjsu.edu

Mondays 6pm - 7pm

 

headshot image of K. Cannava

Kaitlin Cannava

Lecturer

kaitlin.cannava@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 11am - 12pm

 A headshot of Spencer Choate

Spencer Choate

Graduate Teaching Associate

spencer.choate@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 9am - 10am
via Zoom

 

A headshot picture of Roxanne Cnudde.

Roxanne Cnudde

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer
COMM Center Director

roxanne.cnudde@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 1pm - 2pm
Wednesdays 11am - 12pm 
via Zoom

head shot of Coburn-Palo

Nicholas Coburn-Palo 

Lecturer

nicholas.coburn-palo@sjsu.edu

Mondays 6pm - 7pm
via Zoom

A headshot picture of Kristen Cole.

Kristen Cole

(She/Her)

Assistant Professor

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 11am - 12pm

and via Zoom:
Thursdays 5pm - 6pm 

 

A headshot picture of Stephanie Coopman.

Stephanie Coopman

Professor

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

By appointment via Zoom

A headshot picture of Patricia Daley-Harms.

Patricia Daley-Harms

Lecturer

patricia.daley-harms@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 2pm - 4pm

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Gina Firenzi

Senior Lecturer

gina.firenzi@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 12pm - 2pm
Email for a Zoom appointment

A headshot picture of Ge Gao.

Ge Gao

Professor

ge.gao@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 3pm - 5pm
via Zoom

A headshot picture of Felipe Gomez.

Felipe Gómez

(He/Him)

Associate Professor

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 9:30a - 10:30am
Thursdays 11am - 12pm

A headshot picture of Rona Halulani.

Rona Halualani

(She/Her)

Professor

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment

A headshot picture of Tabitha Hart.

Tabitha Hart

Professor
GTA Program Director

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

By appointment via Zoom

head shot of Hasan

Zaki Hasan

Senior Lecturer

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 10:00am - 10:30am
Thursdays 10:00a - 10:30am

A headshot picture of Lucas Hatton.

Lucas Hatton

(He/Him)

Lecturer

lucas.hatton@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:30am - 11:30am
Wednesdays 10:30am - 11:30a
or by appointment via Zoom

A headshot picture of Oona Hatton.

Oona Hatton

Associate Professor

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

On Sabbatical
Returning in Fall 2023

A headshot of Chloe

Chloe Huynh

(She/Her)

Graduate Teaching Associate

chloe.huynh@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 11am - 11:30am
Thursdays 11am - 11:30am
or by appointment

A headshot picture of Marie Haverfield.

Marie Haverfield

(She/Her)

Assistant Professor
Graduate Program Director

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

Graduate Program Advising:
Wednesdays 10am - 12pm
via Zoom

A headshot picture of Minna Holopainen.

Minna Holopainen

Senior Lecturer
Social Media Team Director

minna.holopainen@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Anya Iyengar.

Anya Iyengar

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

anya.iyengar@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays and Thursdays
10am - 12pm via Zoom
or email for an appointment.

A headshot picture of Kyle Johnson.

Kyle Johnson

(He/Him)

Senior Lecturer

kyle.johnson@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 12pm - 1pm
Thursdays 12pm - 1pm
via Zoom
or by appointment

 

A headshot picture of Jean-Pierre Lacrampe.

J.P. Lacrampe

Senior Lecturer

jean-pierre.lacrampe@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 11am - 12pm

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tina Lim

Senior Lecturer

tina.lim@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 11:30am - noon
Thursdays 2:45pm - 3:15pm
and via Zoom on
Wednesdays 2pm - 3pm

 

headshot image of J. Loos

Joanne Loos

Lecturer

joanne.loos@sjsu.edu

Mondays 1pm - 2pm via Zoom and by appointment.

Photo of spartan

Amarissa Mathews

Lecturer

amarissa.mathews@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Kathleen McConell.

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 12pm - 1pm
Thursdays 1pm - 2pm
via Zoom

A headshot picture of Morgan McKnight

Morgan McKnight

Lecturer

morgan.mcknight@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:15am - 11:15am
via Zoom

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Beth McMurray

Senior Lecturer

elizabeth.mcmurray@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Cristina Mejia-Salinas

Lecturer

diana.mejiasalinas@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

 A headshot of Nikki Mirza

Nikki Mirza

Staff: Administrative Analyst

nikki.mirza@sjsu.edu

Mon-Thur: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Available remotely on Fridays 8:00am-5:00pm

head shot of karina momary

Karina Momary

(She/Her)

Lecturer

karina.momary@sjsu.edu

Zoom by appointment

A headshot picture of Jennifer Morrison

Jennifer Morrison

(They/Them)

Senior Lecturer
Advising Director

jennifer.morrison@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 9:30am - 11am
via Zoom

Spartan Logo

Zainab Nisa

Lecturer

zainab.nisa@sjsu.edu

TBA

Beth

Beth Noronha

Staff:                    Department Coordinator

beth.noronha@sjsu.edu

Mon-Thur: 8:00am - 5:00pm Available remotely on Fridays 8:00am - 5:00 pm

A headshot of Nancy Park

Nancy Park

(She/Her)

Lecturer

nancy.park@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 12pm - 1pm
and via Zoom by appointment.

A headshot picture of Rahmon Pashtunyar.

Rahmon Pashtunyar

(He/Him)

Lecturer

rahmon.pashtunyar@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 10:30am - 11:30am

A headshot picture of Nico Peck

Nico Peck

(They/Them)

Senior Lecturer

nico.peck@sjsu.edu 

Mondays 3pm - 4pm
Wednesdays 3pm - 4pm
In person or on Zoom 

A headshot picture of Carol Lynn Perez.

Carol-Lynn Perez

Senior Lecturer

carol-lynn.perez@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 2pm - 4pm 
via Zoom

 

Laura Bell Perez

Laura Bell Perez

Lecturer

laura.bell@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 3pm - 4pm
or by appointment.

A headshot picture of Dana Pozzi.

Dana Pozzi

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

dana.morella@sjsu.edu

TBA

Ashiyan Rahmani

Ashiyan Rahmani

Lecturer

ashiyan.rahmani@sjsu.edu

TBA

headshot image of K. Raiff

Kathleen Raiff

Senior Lecturer

kathleen.raiff@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 12pm - 1pm

A headshot picture of Priya Raman.

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

Head shot of Ramos

David Ramos

Lecturer

david.a.ramos@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10:30am - 11:30am
or by appointment.

A headshot picture of Leif Rogers.

Leif Rogers

(He/Him)

Lecturer

leif.rogers@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 1:30pm - 2:30pm
and by appointment.

Matt Spangler

Matthew Spangler

Professor
Interim Chair, Film and Theatre Department

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Mary Anne Sunseri

Mary Anne Sunseri

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

mary.sunseri@sjsu.edu

Mondays 10am - 12pm
via Zoom

A headshot picture of Ching Ching Tan

Ching Ching Tan

Senior Lecturer

chingching.tan@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays at noon
outside of Clark Hall
or by appointment.

A headshot of Julie Terebkov

Julie Terebkov

(She/Her)

Graduate Teaching Associate

julie.terebkov@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 10am - 11am
via Zoom.

head shot of ulate 

Jody Ulate

Lecturer

jody.ulate@sjsu.edu

Wednesdays 3pm - 4pm
and by appointment.
Please email for Zoom link.

A Spartan Logo

Leigh Via

(She/Her)

Graduate Teaching Associate

leigh.via@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Head shot of Walsh

Lindsay Walsh

(She/Her)

Lecturer

lindsay.walsh@sjsu.edu

Thursdays 10:30am - 11:30am

A headshot picture of Kendall Ward

Kendall Ward

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

kendall.ward@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 1:25pm - 1:55pm
Thursdays 1:25pm - 1:55pm
and by appointment.

 

A headshot picture of Kathy Werking

Kathy Werking

Senior Lecturer

kathy.werking@sjsu.edu

Mondays 9am - 11am

A headshot picture of Karen Williams.

ren (Karen) Williams

(She/Her)

Senior Lecturer

karen.williams@sjsu.edu

Mondays 8am - 9am
or by appointment

Headshot Dr. Andrew F. Wood

Andrew Wood

Professor
Department Chair

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

Please email for appointment.

A headshot picture of Kim Yee.

Kim Yee

(She/Her)

Lecturer

kim.yee@sjsu.edu

Tuesdays 9am - 10am
Thursdays 9am - 10am
or by appointment.