Faculty/Staff Directory

Meet the Department of Communication Studies Faculty and Staff!

Below is a full directory complete with contact information and office hours.

Note that if you are looking for COMM faculty who teach and mentor students in our M.A. program, you should view the Graduate Faculty Directory page.

We look forward to connecting with you! Please know that...

  • Office hours are student hours. We have set aside this time just for you, and we are never too busy to talk.
  • You don't have to be taking a class with us to use our office hours. You can attend office hours with any of us, even if you aren't currently enrolled in our classes.
  • You can attend office hours for (m)any different reasons. Yes, you can certainly use office hours to get help with class assignments, but we are also here to talk about research, offer professional advice, and just chat with you about school. 
  • If you can't make office hours, email us. We can potentially set up an appointment with you at another time. 
 
   COMM Faculty/Staff Contact & Office Hours
 A headshot picture of Anum Ahmed.

Anum Ahmed

Teaching Associate

anum.ahmed@sjsu.edu

Thu 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Book your visit here.
 A headshot picture of Vivian Antonellis.

Vivian Antonellis

Lecturer

vivian.antonellis@sjsu.edu

On leave
 A headshot picture of Philip Bair.

Philip Bair

Lecturer

philip.bair@sjsu.edu 

Wed 9:00 - 10:00 AM
via my Zoom room.
 A headshot picture of Laura Bell.

Laura Bell

Teaching Associate

laura.bell@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 3:00 - 4:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
 A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Joe Biagini

Lecturer

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu

Mon 1:00 - 2:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
 A headshot picture of Bettina Brockmann.

Bettina Brockmann

Lecturer

bettina.brockmann@sjsu.edu

Tue 9:00 - 11:00 AM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Courtney Burks.

Courtney Burks

Lecturer

courtney.burks@sjsu.edu

Wed 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Arjun Buxi.

Arjun Buxi

Lecturer

arjun.buxi@sjsu.edu

Mon 3:00 - 4:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
 A headshot picture of Marquita Byrd.

Marquita Byrd

Associate Professor

marquita.byrd@sjsu.edu

Fri 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Kaitlin Cannava

Lecturer

kaitlin.cannava@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 12:00 - 1:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

James Capurso

Lecturer

james.capurso@sjsu.edu

Tue 3:00 - 4:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Roxanne Cnudde.

Roxanne Cnudde

Lecturer

COMM Center Director

roxanne.cnudde@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 11:00 AM - 12:00
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Nicholas 

Coburn-Palo

Lecturer

nicholas.coburn-palo@sjsu.edu

 
A headshot picture of Kristen Cole.

Kristen Cole

Assistant Professor

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

Mon 10:00 - 11:00 AM
Wed 4:00 - 5:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Melissa Conti

Melissa Conti

Teaching Associate

melissa.conti@sjsu.edu

Thu 9:00 - 10:00 AM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Stephanie Coopman.

Stephanie Coopman

Professor

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Ted Coopman.

Ted Coopman

Lecturer

ted.coopman@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Patricia Daley-Harms.

Patricia Daley-Harms

Lecturer

patricia.daley-harms@sjsu.edu

Wed 9:30 - 10:30 AM
Thu 1:15 - 2:15 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Stephen Eckstone.

Stephen Eckstone

Lecturer

stephen.eckstone@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Alex Elabed.

Alex Elabed

Teaching Associate

alexander.elabed@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 1:00 - 1:30 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Gina Firenzi

Lecturer

gina.firenzi@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of David Galan

David Galan

Lecturer

david.galan@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Ge Gao.

Ge Gao

Professor

ge.gao@sjsu.edu

Wed 8:00 - 10:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tyler Gidney

Lecturer

frank.gidney@sjsu.edu 

Thu 12:00 - 1:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Felipe Gomez.

Felipe Gómez

Associate Professor

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

Mon 3:00 - 5:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Marlon Guira

Administrative Analyst

marlon.guira@sjsu.edu 

 
A headshot picture of Rona Halulani.

Rona Halualani

Professor

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Elizabeth Harris

Lecturer

elizabeth.harris@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 10:30 - 11:30 AM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Tabitha Hart.

Tabitha Hart

Associate Professor

GTA Program Director

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

Mon 5:00 - 6:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Zaki Hasan

Lecturer

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Lucas Hatton.

Lucas Hatton

Lecturer

lucas.hatton@sjsu.edu

Thu 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Oona Hatton.

Oona Hatton

Assistant Professor

Graduate Coordinator

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

Tue 4:00 - 6:00 PM
Wed 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Book your visit via my Google calendar.
A headshot picture of Marie Haverfield.

Marie Haverfield

Assistant Professor

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

Wed 2:00 - 4:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Patrice Hernandez

Administrative Support Coordinator

patricia.hernandez@sjsu.edu 

 
A picture of Stephen Hinerman

Stephen Hinerman

Lecturer

stephen.hinerman@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 2:00 - 3:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Minna Holopainen.

Minna Holopainen

Lecturer

Social Media Team Director

minna.holopainen@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 7:30 - 8:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
 
A headshot picture of Anya Iyengar.

Anya Iyengar

Lecturer

anya.iyengar@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Kyle Johnson.

Kyle Johnson

Lecturer

kyle.johnson@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 10:30 - 11:30 AM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Jean-Pierre Lacrampe.

J.P. Lacrampe

Lecturer

jean-pierre.lacrampe@sjsu.edu

Tue 9:00 - 10:00 AM
Register your visit to my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Scott Laczko.

Scott Laczko

Lecturer

Forensics

scott.laczko@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 1:00 - 2:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Brohne Lawhorne

Lecturer

brohne.lawhorne@sjsu.edu

On leave
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tina Lim

Lecturer

Director of Forensics

tina.lim@sjsu.edu

Tu, Wed, Thu 12:00 - 1:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Amarissa Mathews

Lecturer

amarissa.mathews@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 2:00 - 3:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Kathleen McConell.

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Wed 12:00 - 1:00 PM
Thu 7:00 - 8:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Sarah McGaffey

Sarah McGaffey

Lecturer

COMM Center Staff

sarah.mcgaffey@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Morgan McKnight

Morgan McKnight

Lecturer

morgan.mcknight@sjsu.edu

Fri 8:20 - 9:20 AM
Email me to book your visit.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Beth McMurray

Lecturer

elizabeth.mcmurray@sjsu.edu

Wed 12:00 - 1:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Cristina Mejia-Salinas

Lecturer

diana.mejiasalinas@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Angie Mendoza.

Angie Mendoza

Teaching Associate

angie.m.mendoza@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 6:00 - 6:30 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Jennifer Morrison

Jennifer Morrison

Lecturer

Internship Program Director

jennifer.morrison@sjsu.edu

Tue, Thu 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Karina Momary

Lecturer

karina.momary@sjsu.edu

Tue 6:00 - 7:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Zainab Nisa.

Zainab Nisa

Teaching Associate

zainab.nisa@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 2:15 - 2:45 PM 
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Lauren Oliver.

Lauren Oliver

Teaching Associate

lauren.oliver@sjsu.edu

Mon 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Nancy Park.

Nancy Park

Teaching Associate

nancy.park@sjsu.edu

Tue 4:00 - 5:00 PM.
Book your visit via my Google calendar.
A headshot picture of Rahmon Pashtunyar.

Rahmon Pashtunyar

Lecturer

rahmon.pashtunyar@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Nico Peck

Nico Peck

Lecturer

COMM Center Staff

nico.peck@sjsu.edu 

Mon & Wed 9:30 - 10:15 AM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Brandi Pena-Garcia

Lecturer

brandi.penagarcia@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Carol Lynn Perez.

Carol Lynn Perez

Lecturer

carol-lynn.perez@sjsu.edu

Wed 2:00 - 4:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Dana Pozzi.

Dana Pozzi

Lecturer

dana.morella@sjsu.edu

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Kathleen Raiff

Lecturer

kathleen.raiff@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 12:00 - 1:15 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Priya Raman.

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of David Ramos

David Ramos

Lecturer

david.a.ramos@sjsu.edu

Fri 9:00 - 10:00 AM
Book your visit via my Google calendar.
A headshot picture of Vicky Rodriguez

Vicky Rodriguez

Administrative Analyst/Specialist

victoria.rodriguez@sjsu.edu

408-924-5360

A headshot picture of Leif Rogers.

Leif Rogers

Lecturer

leif.rogers@sjsu.edu

Tue 1:30 - 2:30 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Matthew Spangler

Matthew Spangler

Professor

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

Mon 1:00 - 3:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Shawn Spano

Shawn Spano

Professor

shawn.spano@sjsu.edu

Wed 2:00 - 3:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Mary Anne Sunseri

Mary Anne Sunseri

Lecturer

Forensics

mary.sunseri@sjsu.edu

Wed 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Book your visit via my Google calendar.
A headshot picture of Ching Ching Tan

Ching Ching Tan

Lecturer

chingching.tan@sjsu.edu

Wed 3:00 - 4:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Anne Marie Todd.

Anne Marie Todd

Professor

Department Chair

annemarie.todd@sjsu.edu

Tue 2:00 - 3:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Jody Ulate

Lecturer

jody.ulate@sjsu.edu 

Thu 12:00 - 1:00 PM
Register your visit to my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Federico Varona.

Federico Varona

Professor

federico.varona@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 9:00 - 10:00 AM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Lindsay Walsh.

Lindsay Walsh

Lecturer

lindsay.walsh@sjsu.edu

Mon & Wed 4:00 - 4:30 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Shannon Waltrip-Sequiera.

Shannon Waltrip-Sequeira

Lecturer

shannon.waltrip-sequeira@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 1:00 - 2:00 PM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Kendall Ward

Kendall Ward

Lecturer

kendall.ward@sjsu.edu

Tue & Thu 10:00 - 10:30 AM
Email me to book your visit.
A headshot picture of Kathy Werking

Kathy Werking

Lecturer

kathywerking@msn.com

A headshot picture of Karen Williams.

Karen Williams

Lecturer

karen.williams@sjsu.edu

Mon 11:30 AM - 12:00 PM
via this Zoom room.
 
Mon 1:30 - 2:30 PM
via this Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Andrew Wood.

Andrew Wood

Professor

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

Tue, Thu 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Book your visit via my Google calendar.
A headshot picture of Nikki Yeboah

Nikki Yeboah

Assistant Professor

nikki.yeboah@sjsu.edu

Tue 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Tue 3:00 - 4:00 PM
via my Zoom room.
A headshot picture of Kim Yee.

Kim Yee

Lecturer

kim.yee@sjsu.edu

Tue & Wed 10:30 - 11:30 AM
Register your visit to my Zoom room.