Graduate Faculty

Meet our COMM Studies Graduate Faculty!

Graduate faculty members hold PhDs and have specialized training in communication. They teach courses in our MA program, mentor graduate students, and serve on thesis and project committees.

If you are looking for the full faculty/staff directory complete with office hour information, please navigate to the Faculty/Staff Directory page.  

  COMM Graduate Faculty Contact
A headshot picture of Kristen Cole.

Kristen Cole

Assistant Professor

Critical Health Communication, Rhetoric, Cultural Studies

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

Headshot of Prof. Gomez

Felipe Gómez

Associate Professor

Organizational Communication

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Rona Halulani.

Rona Halualani

Professor

Critical Intercultural Communication

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

 

A generic Spartan Spirit logo

Tabitha Hart

Professor & GTA Program Director

Ethnography of Communication, High Impact Educational Practices

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Oona Hatton.

Oona Hatton

Assistant Professor 

Performance Studies

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Marie Haverfield.

Marie Haverfield

Assistant Professor & Graduate Program Director

Health, Interpersonal, and Family Communication

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Kathleen McConell.

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

Rhetorical Studies, Critical Communication Education

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Picture of Alejandro Artiga-Purcell.

Alejandro Artiga-Purcell

Assistant Professor

Envrionmental Communication Studies

alejandro.artiga-purcell@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Priya Raman.

Priya Raman

Associate Professor

Media & Communication
(on loan to the University FA 2023)

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Matthew Spangler

Matthew Spangler

Professor

Performance Studies
(on loan to the Department of Film and Theatre FA 2022)

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

A headshot picture of Andrew Wood.

Andrew Wood

Professor
Department Chair

Rhetoric, Urban Studies, Tourism
(not teaching FA 2022)

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu