Hal Todd Award - Acting

Hal ToddHal Todd received his B.S Degree at the University of Colorado in 1945. Todd went on to study and earn a Masters Degree at Stanford University in 1950. He then completed his Ph.D. at Denver University in 1954. Dr. Todd came to San José State University in 1964 as Professor of Theatre and Chairman of the Department of Drama. He held that position for eighteen years during which time more than 25,000 students studied and majored in Theatre Arts. During his administration Dr. Todd kept a full teaching load and directed four or five plays a year (including the summer repertory program, children’s plays, and rehearsal/performance productions. Students majoring in Theatre Arts during this period often participated in more than 30 productions during their four-year course of study. The department was considered one of the top ten schools in the country. Dr. Todd’s specialties were acting, directing, and the seminar in Comedy.

The Hal Todd Award for Excellence in Acting was established in 1990 and is given to the Best Actor.

Past Recipients

2015 Rafael TJ Toribio
2014 Kevin Davis
2013 Yousef Erakat
2012 Jason Kapoor
2012 Drew Jones
2011 Corey Censoprano
2011 Adam Sessa
2010 Chris Carter
2009 Sean Gilvary
2009 Josh Marx
2008 Pierre Johnson
2007 Omar Munoz
2006 Lance Voellger
2005 Ricky Marshall
2004 Jeff Brown
2003 Chris Cooper
2002 Matt McTighe
2001 Omar Miller
2000 Breton Nicholson