Awards and Scholarships

Fall 2023

Deadline for submissions: Wednesday, November 1, 2023 by noon (note: Scholarship submissions will be accepted in the semester that they are due.)

Note: Only currently enrolled students are eligible. Award values are estimates only and will be determined after endowment distributions are finalized; amounts may be distributed to more than one awardee.

Guidelines: Submissions not following these guidelines will not be considered.

Each submission must include a cover sheet with your name, student ID, your status as undergraduate or graduate student, the title of the award you are applying for, and your email address. Submit only one entry per student.

  • Do not put your name on any page of your submission except the cover sheet.
  • Include the last 4 digits of your student ID number in the upper right hand corner of each page.
  • Submit all entries by email as a Word doc or PDF to  If access to email is unavailable, hand deliver to the English Department office FOB 102.  Please email us for any questions you may have. 
  • Check the Scholarship and Awards Information Board in the English Department building (FOB) for additional information.

Scholarships Available by Student Submission:

Open to graduate and undergraduate students:

  • The James O. Wood Fund for Shakespeare Studies: Scholarship to the best essay, reading, scene representation, musical presentation, costume, painting, sculpture, or other appropriate project related to any of Shakespeare’s dramatic works. Submissions must include a one-page statement about the project.

Scholarships Available by Faculty Nomination:

Faculty will consider some of their best students from this academic year for the following scholarships.  

Open to undergraduate students:  

  • The Catherine Urban Scholarship/s: For Junior and Senior English majors displaying academic promise in writing. Applicants must be at least half-time students with a minimum GPA of 3.0 overall and in English, and demonstrated financial need.
  • The Dorothy Wright Children’s Literature Award: For outstanding work in children’s literature by an undergraduate English major.
  • The Dr. Josephine Chandler Scholarship: For a student who demonstrates clear academic excellence and a commitment to the study of Humanities. Must have a minimum 3.5 GPA and majoring in one of the following: English, Foreign Languages, Humanities, Philosophy or LLD.

Open to graduate and undergraduate students:  

  • The W.O. Crockett Scholarship: For full time graduate or undergraduate student(s) with a minimum of 12 completed units, a minimum 3.0 GPA, and financial need. Candidate should have demonstrated commitment to African-American culture and Literature.
  • The Roberta Holloway Scholarship: For an English major with Junior, Senior or Graduate student status, demonstrating outstanding scholastic achievement.
  • The Ruth MacLean McGee Scholarship Fund: For an English major undergraduate/graduate student with a minimum of 12 completed units or an undergraduate student English major with a minimum of 24 completed units. Must have with a minimum 3.0 GPA and is awarded for outstanding achievement in non-fiction.

Open to graduate students: 

  • Harvey Birenbaum Prize: For students enrolled in courses in the MA program showing excellence in the graduate study of Literature.
  • Owen Milton Broyles Scholarship: For outstanding achievement by a graduate student.
  • The Rico-Ressman Scholarship: For a full time MFA student showing excellence.

The top three students in each category will be asked to submit a writing sample which will be judged by an appropriate committee.