Our Faculty

By Last Name

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Photo   Name       Office and Contact
Ume Ali  

Ume Ali

Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 213
408-924-4434
ume.ali@sjsu.edu

photo of selena anderson  

Selena Anderson

Assistant Professor; Director, Center for Literary Arts
PhD, University of Houston    

 

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4449
selena.Anderson@sjsu.edu

spartan gold uncoated  

Gina Arnold

Lecturer
PhD, Stanford University

 

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4025
regina.arnold@sjsu.edu

photo of zehlia babaci-wilhite  

Zehlia Babaci-Wilhite

Lecturer
PhD, University of Oslo, Norway

 

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4706
zehlia.babaci-wilhite@sjsu.edu

j bean 2022  

Jennifer Bean

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 224
jennifer.bean@sjsu.edu 

Louise Bernbaum  

Louise Bernbaum

Lecturer
MA, Fairleigh Dickinson University

 

louise.bernbaum@sjsu.edu 

Cassie Blair  

Cassie Blair

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 218
cassandra.blair@sjsu.edu 

photo of noelle brada-williams  

Noelle Brada-Williams

Chair; Professor
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara    

 

Faculty Offices 103
408-924-4439
noelle.brada-williams@sjsu.edu

Spartan Spirit  

Kathleen Carter

Lecturer

 

408-398-2715
kathleen.carter@sjsu.edu 

Spartan Spirit Gold  

Tim Cech

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 213
408-924-4337
timothy.cech@sjsu.edu 

photo of lilly chen  

Lilly Chen

Lecturer
MA, University of Illinois Springfield

 

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-5079
lilly.chen@sjsu.edu 

mario john chris  

Mario Chris

Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 226
mario.chris@sjsu.edu

David Coad  

David Coad

Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Davis

 

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4435
david.coad@sjsu.edu 

sara cook faculty photo  

Sara Cook

Lecturer
Coordinator of the Upper-Division Writing Directed Self Placement (formerly WST)

 

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-4035
sara.cook@sjsu.edu

Chelsea Criez  

Chelsea Criez

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-4339
chelsea.criez@sjsu.edu

photo of johnny damm  


Johnny Damm

Lecturer
PhD, University of Georgia    

 

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-5046
john.damm@sjsu.edu

Spartan Spirit Gold  

Alex Davis

Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz 

 

Faculty Offices 219
alex.davis@sjsu.edu 

Christopher Dizon  

Christopher Dizon

Lecturer
MA, California State University, East Bay

 

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4117
christopher.j.dizon@sjsu.edu 

photo of mark dowdy  


Mark Dowdy

Lecturer
PhD, University of Iowa    

 

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5063
mark.dowdy@sjsu.edu

photo of adrienne eastwood  


Adrienne L. Eastwood

Professor;
Curriculum Coordinator
PhD, University of California, San Diego    
 

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4509
adrienne.eastwood@sjsu.edu

photo of tod edgerton  


Michael (Tod) Edgerton

Lecturer
PhD, University of Georgia

 

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4069
michael.edgerton@sjsu.edu

photo of kristin fitzpatrick  


Kristin FitzPatrick

Lecturer
MFA, California State University, Fresno

 

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4483
kristin.fitzpatrickezell@sjsu.edu

photo of meghan gorman-darif  


Meghan Gorman-DaRif 

Assistant Professor    
PhD, University of Texas, Austin

 

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4473
meghan.gorman-darif@sjsu.edu

photo of katherine harris  


Katherine D. Harris

Professor
PhD, The Graduate Center, City University of New York

 

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4475
katherine.harris@sjsu.edu

photo of sherri harvey  


Sherri Harvey

Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4456
sherri.harvey@sjsu.edu

picture of daniel hendel de la o  


Daniel Hendel De La O

Lecturer
MA, San José State University    

 

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-5019
daniel.hendeldelao@sjsu.edu

photo of bryan hoffer  

Bryan Hoffer

Lecturer
MA, San José State University    

 

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-4154
bryan.hoffer@sjsu.edu

Jessica Hollander  

Jessica Hollander

Lecturer
MFA, University of Alabama

 

Faculty Offices 106
408-924-5807
jessica.hollander@sjsu.edu 

photo of mostafa jalal  


Mostafa Jalal 

Lecturer
PhD, Georgia State University

 

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4430
mostafa.jalal@sjsu.edu

Scott Jarvie  


Scott Jarvie

Assistant Professor
PhD, Michigan State University

 

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4316
scott.jarvie@sjsu.edu

photo of allison johnson  


Allison Johnson

Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles    

 

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-3257
allison.johnson@sjsu.edu

photo of faith kirk  


Faith Kirk

Lecturer
PhD, Michigan State University    

 

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-5093
faith.kirk@sjsu.edu

rebeccakling  

Rebecca Kling

Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Davis

 

Clark Hall 419
408-924-4463
rebecca.kling@sjsu.edu

photo of revathi krishnaswamy  


Revathi Krishnaswamy

Professor, MA Advisor, and Graduate Coordinator
PhD, Kent State University    

 

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-1384 
revathi.krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu

Nalana La Framboise  

Nalana La Framboise

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 213
408-924-4371
nalana.laframboise@sjsu.edu 

bronwyn lamay  


Bronwyn LaMay

Lecturer
PhD, English and Literacy Education, Stanford University

 

Faculty Offices 111
bronwyn.lamay@sjsu.edu

Raina Levesque  

Raina Levesque

Lecturer
PhD, New York University

 

Faculty Offices 220
raina.levesque@sjsu.edu 

photo of jill logan  


Jill Logan

Lecturer
Steinbeck Fellow, 2018-2019
MFA, University of Iowa    

 

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4024
jill.logan@sjsu.edu

Addie Mahmassani  

Addie Mahmassani

Teaching Associate
PhD, Rutgers University

 

Faculty Offices 217
nadia.mahmassani@sjsu.edu

j. michael martinez  


J. Michael Martinez

Assistant Professor
MFA, George Mason University

 


Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4451
jmichael.martinez@sjsu.edu

Spartan Spirit Gold  

Andrew McClure

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 118
andrew.mcclure@sjsu.edu

photo of richard mcnabb  

Richard McNabb

Associate Chair, Professor, and Writing Programs Administrator
PhD, University of Arizona    

 

Faculty Offices 101
408-924-1382
richard.mcnabb@sjsu.edu

photo of kathleen mcsharry  


Kathleen McSharry

Professor
PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison    

 

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4495
kathleen.mcsharry@sjsu.edu

photo of helen meservey  


Helen Meservey

Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4323 
helen.meservey@sjsu.edu

photo of linda mitchell  


Linda C. Mitchell

Professor; 
Majors Advisor
PhD, University of Southern California    

 

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4453
linda.mitchell@sjsu.edu

photo of thomas moriarty  


Thomas Moriarty

Professor;
Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
PhD English, Purdue University    

 

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4515
thomas.moriarty@sjsu.edu 

Jillian Murphy  

Jillian Murphy 

Lecturer 
MA, San José State University 

 


Faculty Offices 221
408-924-5149
jillian.murphy@sjsu.edu 

Tanja Nathanael  

Tanja Nathanael 

Lecturer 
PhD, University of Southern Mississippi

  tanja.nathanael@sjsu.edu
photo of keenan norris  

Keenan Norris

Assistant Professor
PhD, University of California, Riverside    

 

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4601
keenan.norris@sjsu.edu

Paula Oakes  

Paula Oakes 

Lecturer
MA, San José State University 

 

Sweeney Hall 223
408-924-1830
paula.oakes@sjsu.edu 

photo of kristian o'hare  


Kristian O'Hare 

Lecturer
PhD, Western Michigan University

 

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-4505
kristian.ohare@sjsu.edu

photo of peter o'sullivan  


Peter O'Sullivan

Lecturer
MFA, San José State University    

 

Faculty Offices 107
408-924-4419
peter.o'sullivan@sjsu.edu

lee patterson  


Lee Patterson

Lecturer
PhD, Florida State University

 

Faculty Offices 220
lee.patterson@sjsu.edu

photo of alesya petty  


Alesya Petty

Lecturer
MA, San José State University    

 

Faculty Offices 224 
408-924-4496 
alesya.petty@sjsu.edu

photo of sarah prasad  


Sarah Prasad

Lecturer
MA, San Francisco State University    

 

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4456
sarah.prasad@sjsu.edu

Daniel Rivers  


Daniel Lanza Rivers

Assistant Professor    
PhD, Claremont Graduate University

 

Clark Hall 420C
408-921-1366
daniel.rivers@sjsu.edu

photo of avantika rohatgi  


Avantika Rohatgi

Lecturer
PhD, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India

 

Faculty Offices 107 
408-924-4488 
avantika.rohatgi@sjsu.edu

photo of colto saylor  


Colton Saylor 

Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara

 

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4479
colton.saylor@sjsu.edu

photo of kirsten schwartz  


Kirsten Schwartz

Lecturer
MA, California State University, East Bay

 

Faculty Offices 221 
408-924-5083
kirsten.schwartz@sjsu.edu

Amanda Shipman  

Amanda Shipman

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 212
amanda.shipman@sjsu.edu

photo of ryan skinnell  


Ryan Skinnell

Assistant Professor; Teaching Associates Coordinator
PhD, Arizona State University    

 

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4207
ryan.skinnell@sjsu.edu

photo of sian sloan  


Sian Sloan

Lecturer
PhD, New York University  

 

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4434
sian.sloan@sjsu.edu

photo of amanda smith  


Amanda Smith

Lecturer
PhD, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

 

Faculty Offices 219 
408-924-4071
amanda.smith@sjsu.edu

ryan smith faculty photo  


Ryan Smith

Teaching Associate; 
Former Managing Editor, Reed Magazine

 

Faculty Offices 114
ryan.smith@sjsu.edu

photo of alan soldofsky  


Alan Soldofsky

Professor; Creative Writing and MFA Director & Advisor; 
Poets & Writers Coalition Faculty Advisor
MFA, University of Iowa

 

Faculty Offices 106
408-924-4432
alan.soldofsky@sjsu.edu

photo of allison st. dennis  


Allison St. Dennis

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 218
408-924-4956
allison.stdennis@sjsu.edu

photo of nancy stork  


Nancy Stork

Professor [pdf]
PhD, University of Toronto

 

Faculty Offices 218
408-924-4477
nancy.stork@sjsu.edu

spartan gray coated  


Katharine Studer

Lecturer
MFA, Bowling Green State University

 

Faculty Offices 127
katharine.studer@sjsu.edu

amber sylva faculty photo  

Amber Sylva

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4440
amber.sylva@sjsu.edu

photo of nick taylor  


Nick Taylor 

Professor;
Director of Steinbeck Center
MFA, Virginia

 

Faculty Offices 226 
408-924-4458
nicholas.taylor@sjsu.edu

photo of mark thompson  


Mark Thompson

Associate Professor;
Director of Professional and Technical Writing Program; TYPO Faculty Advisor
PhD, Carnegie Mellon University

 

Faculty Offices 110 
408-924-4433 
mark.thompson@sjsu.edu 

Victoria Thorp  

Victoria Thorp

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 112
victoria.thorp@sjsu.edu 

photo of au-co tran  


Au-Co Tran

Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4235
au-co.tran@sjsu.edu

Rachel Turner  


Rachel Turner

Lecturer
MA, King's College, London

 

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4487
rachel.turner@sjsu.edu

jody ulate  


Jody Ulate

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

Hugh Gillis Hall 205
408-924-4503
jody.ulate@sjsu.edu

Maite Urcaregui  

Maite Urcaregui

Assistant Professor    
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara

 

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4416 
maite.urcaregui@sjsu.edu 

photo of jose villagrana  


José Villagrana 

Assistant Professor   
PhD, University of California, Berkeley 

 

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4429 
jose.villagrana@sjsu.edu

Roohi Vora  


Roohi Vora

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4428
roohi.vora@sjsu.edu

Anne Walker  

Anne Walker

Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Berkeley

 

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4423
anne.walker@sjsu.edu 

photo of mary warner  


Mary Warner  

Professor; 
English Credential Program Director 
PhD, University of Michigan

 

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4417
mary.warner@sjsu.edu

Laurie Weckesser  

Laurie Weckesser 

Lecturer
MA, San José State University

 

laurie.weckesser@sjsu.edu 

photo of sara west  


Sara West

Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Arkansas

 

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4047
sara.west@sjsu.edu

photo of jill yang  


Yuching (Jill) Yang

Lecturer
PhD, Arizona State University

 

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4492
yuching.yang@sjsu.edu

amna yusuf  


Amna Yusuf

Teaching Associate

 

Faculty Offices 226
amna.yusuf@sjsu.edu