Faculty & Staff Directory

Music Faculty

Catalina Barazza

Catalina Barraza

Violin & Viola
String Area Coordinator

catalina.barraza@sjsu.edu

Tiffany Barry

Tiffany Barry

Music Education

tiffany.barry@sjsu.edu

dahveed behroozi

Dahveed Behroozi

Jazz Piano

dahveedbehroozi@gmail.com

Christopher Bengochea

Christopher Bengochea

Voice

christopher.bengochea@sjsu.edu

Sandra Bengochea

Sandra Bengochea

Area Coordinator, Voice
Opera Theater

408.924.4658
sandra.bengochea@sjsu.edu

Jeffery Benson

Jeffrey Benson

Director of Choral Activities

408.924.4645
jeffrey.benson@sjsu.edu

Corie Brown

Corie Brown

Choral Activites, Music Education
 corie.brown@sjsu.edu
placeholder

Erica Buurman

Music History, Beethoven Center

erica.buurman@sjsu.edu

placeholder

Forrest Byram

Tuba, Euphonium

408.924.4653
forrest.byram@sjsu.edu

Yuen Chou

Yueh Chou

Bassoon

408.924.4666
yueh.chou@sjsu.edu
 

Brian Ciach

Brian Ciach

Music Theory

 brian.ciach@sjsu.edu

Fred Cohen

Fred Cohen

Director, School of Music and Dance

Director, SJSU Symphony Orchestra

408.924.4677
fred.cohen@sjsu.edu

Mike Dahlberg

Michael Dahlberg

Cello

mike.dahlberg@sjsu.edu

Jon Dryden

Jon Dryden

Jazz piano

408.924.4679
jondryden@yahoo.com

picturePaulEllison

Paul Ellison

Music History, General Music

paul.ellison@sjsu.edu

Caitlyn Smith

Caitlyn Smith Franklin

French horn

408.924.4653
caitlyn.smithfranklin@sjsu.edu

placeholder

John Freeman

Trumpet

408.924.4653
john.freeman@sjsu.edu

Pablo Furman

Pablo Furman

Associate Director
Composition Area Coordinator, Keyboard Area Coordinator

408.924.4646
pablo.furman@sjsu.edu 

         placeholder

Ren Geisick

Vocal jazz

408.924.4678
rengeisick@gmail.com

 Laura Griffiths

Laura Griffiths

Oboe

lsengelein@aol.com

Gordon Haramaki

Gordon Haramaki

Music History Area Coordinator,
Collegium Musicum 
Graduate Coordinator

408.924.4634
gordon.haramaki@sjsu.edu
 

Timothy Harris

Timothy Harris

Music in World Cultures

408.924.4673
timothy.harris@sjsu.edu

Michael Hernandez

Michael Hernandez

Woodwind Coordinator, Saxophone
Saxophone Ensemble

408.924.4673
michaelnhernandez@gmail.com

Diana Hollinger

Diana Hollinger

Music Education Area Coordinator

408.924.4631
diana.hollinger@sjsu.edu

Tom Hornig

Thomas Hornig

Brass Area Coordinator
Trombone, Euphonium

408.924.4647
thomas.hornig@sjsu.edu

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio

Music Education

408.924.4656
kara.irelanddambrosio@sjsu.edu

Thomas Langan

Tom Langan

Jazz Studies, Music Theory, General Studies 

408.924.4678
thomas.langan@sjsu.edu

Bryce Leafman

Bryce Leafman

Percussion Area Coordinator,
Percussion Ensemble

408.924.4681
bryce.leafman@sjsu.edu

Frank Levy

Frank Lévy

Keyboard Studies

408.924.3884
franklevy960@gmail.com

Jason Lewis

Jason Lewis

Jazz Studies
Jazz Drumset
Jazz Combo

408.924.4660
jason.lewis@sjsu.edu

Jeffrey Lewis

Jeffrey Lewis

Jazz Trumpet
Jazz Combo 
Latin Jazz Ensemble

408.924.4680
jeffrey.lewis@sjsu.edu

Ihang Lin

Ihang Lin

Collaborative Pianist / Symphony Orchestra

ihanglin@bu.edu

Steven Lin

Steven Lin

Classical Guitar

408.924.4333
steven.lin@sjsu.edu

Aaron Lington

Aaron Lington

Jazz Studies Area Coordinator,
Jazz Orchestra, 
Jazz Saxophone

408.924.4636
aaron.lington@sjsu.edu

Christopher Luna-mega

Christopher Luna-Mega

Computer Music,
Composition

christopher.luna-mega@sjsu.edu

Victoria Lington

Victoria Lington

Collaborative Pianist
Music Theory, General Music

408.924.4650
victoria.lington@sjsu.edu

Craig McKenzie

Craig McKenzie

Marching Band
Music Education

408.924.4643
craig.mckenzie@sjsu.edu

placeholder

Kate Johnson Metcalf

General Education


kate.j.metcalf@gmail.com  

Jennifer Mitchell

Jennifer Mitchell

Voice

jennifer.alexis.mitchell@gmail.com

 

Michael Mohammed

Voice

michael.mohammed@sjsu.edu

Gwendolyn Mok

Gwendolyn Mok

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4637
gwendolyn.mok@sjsu.edu

Bruce Moyer

Bruce Moyer

Double Bass

408.924.4668
bruce.moyer@sjsu.edu

Catherine Payne

Catherine Payne

Flute

408.924.4333
catherine.payne@sjsu.edu

Dan Robbins

Dan Robbins

Jazz Bass

408.924.4668
daniel.robbins@sjsu.edu

placeholder

Abi Ramirez Romero

Music in Latin America
Jazz Studies

408.924.3407
abigail.romero@sjsu.edu

 placeholder 

Vince Russo

General Music

 john.v.russo@sjsu.edu

Robin Sacolick

Robin Sacolick

Music in World Cultures,
General Music
408.924.4678
profsacolick@yahoo.com
Jacque Scharlach

Jacque Scharlach

Voice

jwilson1897@gmail.com

Lucas Schwyter

Lucas Schwyter

Audio Technology, Audio Recording
 youngkwang.schwyter@sjsu.edu
Philip Skinner

Philip Skinner

Music Education, Vocal Performance

philip.skinner@sjsu.edu

Jonathan Smucker

Jonathan Smucker

Voice

jonathan.smucker@sjsu.edu

placeholder

Simona Snitkovskaya

Collaborative piano, Chamber music

408.924.4658
simona.sniksovskaya@sjsu.edu

Namik Sultinov

Namiq Sultanov

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4650
namiq.sultanov@sjsu.edu

 

Jonathan Szin

Clarinet; Clarinet Ensemble

jonathan.szin@sjsu.edu

Rick Vandivier

Rick Vandivier

Jazz Guitar

408.924.4680
richard.vandivier@sjsu.edu

 Dr. David Vickerman 

David Vickerman

Director of Bands

408.924.6971
david.vickerman@sjsu.edu

Music and Dance Staff
Lucy Yamakawa Cox

Lucy Yamakawa Cox

Financial Analyst
408.924.4672
lucy.yamakawacox@sjsu.edu
  
Craig McGovern

Craig McGovern

Audio and Light Technician

craig.mcgovern@sjsu.edu

Ernie Martinez

Ernie Martinez

Piano Technician

408.924.4641
ernie.martinez@sjsu.edu 

Paul Olivo

Paul Olivo

Resource Center Librarian

408.924.4639
paul.olivo@sjsu.edu

placeholder

Eliza Rentschler

Scheduling Analyst

408.924-4673

liza.rentschler@sjsu.edu 

placeholder

Easther Ng

Student and Community Analyst
easther.ng@sjsu.edu 

Collaborative Pianists and Staff

Emily Hsu

Emily Hsu

Choral ensemble accompanying


emily.hsu@sjsu.edu

Victoria Lington

Victoria Lington

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4650
victoria.lington@sjsu.edu

placeholder

Simona Snitkovskaya

Collaborative piano, Chamber music

simona.sniksovskaya@sjsu.edu