(un)Honors Work Continues

Sent: June 18, 2021

From: Vincent J. Del Casino, Jr., Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Dear Colleagues,

I am pleased to inform you that we have launched a summer working group to build upon the great ideas proposed by the 2020-21 (un) Honors Task Force. See here for the Task Force’s presentation to the campus community last month.

The summer working group includes representation from faculty as well as student affairs. Its charge is to imagine a program that is innovative and interdisciplinary, and that speaks to the concerns of this region and this moment. 

Please share your thoughts or feedback with members of the working group. We hope to present some recommendations to the wider campus community this Fall.

Vincent J. Del Casino, Jr.

Faculty and Student Affairs Working Group:

Walter Adams, Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences
Lina Anastasovitou, Coordinator of Academic Success, Housing
Ruma Chopra, Professor, History
Teresa De La Cruz, Director, Educational Opportunity Program
John Delacruz, Associate Professor, Journalism & Mass Communications
Deanna Gonzales, Director, Undergraduate Admissions & Outreach
Steven Lin, Lecturer, Music & Dance
Nidhi Mahendra, Department Chair, Communicative Disorders & Sciences
Coleetta Mcelroy, Interim Senior AVP, Enrollment Management
Sarika Pruthi, Associate Professor, Global Innovation & Leadership
Jennifer Rycenga, Professor, Humanities
Sharon Willey, Division of Student Affairs