Associated Students offers the following scholarships to San Jose State University students to help offset the costs of attending college. Apply through the Financial Aid and Scholarship Office starting in the spring.

Eligibility Requirements:

  • All applicants must be matriculated students who have completed a minimum of 15 semester units at SJSU and are in good standing
  • Outgoing and past elected Associated Students officials are eligible to apply and receive an award.
  • Incoming Associated Students elected officials are not eligible to receive the award
  • Awards based on financial need must be verified by the Financial Aid Office and require supporting documentation as determined from the FAFSA application.
  • Recipients are restricted to one A.S. Scholarship while attending SJSU.
  • Must meet eligibility based on S05-04 University Qualifications.
  • Award may not exceed a student's "cost of attendance" at San Jose State University and may affect their financial award package.
  • GPA requirement shall be determined by a cumulative GPA of 2.5 and above (an exception is the A.S. Legacy Award, which requires a 2.75 GPA). No letter of recommendation required.

A.S. Scholarships 2020 – 2021
Associated Students scholarship recipients demonstrate exemplary leadership and involvement in campus and community life, including student organizations, sports, campus committees, volunteerism, community and civic activism. A total of $70,000 was awarded to our deserving and admirable Spartans.

A.S. First-Generation Student Scholarship ($1,000 per recipient)
Awarded to students who are first in their family to attend college. The awardee is a role model for future first-generation students, supports the success of peers and acts as a mentor and support for the youth.
Andrew Alkakos
Alejandro Anaya Lau
Daniela Bazan
Merilouisse Bugay
Dariana Chow
Victoria Garcia
Shawn Hartshorn
Ariana Hernandez
Miguel Hernandez
Nancy Martin
Madilynne Medina
Leticia Nunez
Andrea Ortiz Perez
Mriyah Parker
Azusena Reyes
Cynthia Salina Garduno
Gladus Santos Vasquez
Nimara Shafqat
Sangita Tamang
Stephanie Torres

A.S. Legacy Award ($1,500 per recipient)
Awarded to students who encourage optimism and create a legacy through exemplary leadership, support, academic and extracurricular involvement and contribution for the betterment of the campus and the community.
Angelina Alvarez
Saeed Baqalaql
Belissa Bui
Elaine Delos Reyes
Lawrence Deng
Nessa Noelle Diamante
Aryana Hernandez
Marcos Hung
Diana Neri
Kaela Nguyen
Sabrina On
Prajwal Pyakurel
Esperanza Rosas
Joe Strong
Lisa Wong

St. Saffold Leadership Scholarship ($1,000 per recipient)
Named after St Saffold, a well-recognized and honored SJSU alum, the scholarship is awarded to students who embody true SJSU leadership, inspiring peers to make a difference and to bring passion in helping others.
Mahelet Abraham
Tasneem Alsharif
Otmr Alvarado
Kristian Blair
Samuel Bland
Shannon Campano
Patricia Islas
Cameron McCallister
Mikayla Paule
Mikayla Saffold Collins
Sarah Stickell
Jessica Traver
Yvette Vaca
Rahel Woldeabezegi
Kelena Zamora

A.S. Advocacy Award ($750 per recipient)
Awarded to students who strongly advocate for social justice through diverse forms of civic engagement, such as volunteer work and public activism, to create a more socially-conscious campus community.
Annlyne Diokno
Angelique Kennedy
Celina Mingfield
Navkiran Saini
Alaa Salim
Iris Schmidt
Shaida Shaninfar
Mohammed Motahedian Tabrizi
Nicole Walker
Minna Wu

A.S. Global Scholar Award ($500 per recipient)
Awarded to students who understand the importance of social, political, environmental or economic issues on a worldwide scale and who have the passion to explore international cultures and societies.
Julien Elliott
Allision Elmore
Mya Foster
Madison Isaak
Kaela Japson
Siena Kuan
Victor Liu
Nasrin Rohim
Mar Adrian Santos
Megan Stewart

For any questions or inquiries please contact the A.S. Government office at 
Diaz Compean Student Union, 2nd floor, Suite 2300
Telephone: (408) 924-6240