Faculty and Staff Directory

Interim Department Chair

Matthew Spangler

Matthew Spangler, Ph.D.

Performance Studies Professor
Theatre & Immigration
Playwriting
Irish Studies

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-1373
Office: HGH 102

Permanent Faculty

Andrea Bechert

Andrea Bechert

Theatre Arts Associate Professor
Production
Design and Technology

andrea.bechert@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-8070
Office: HGH 202

Spring 2022 Theatre Arts Advisor:
Last Names A-F

Kirsten Brandt

Kirsten Brandt

Theatre Arts Assistant Professor
Acting
Directing
Musical Theatre
Theatre Education

kirsten.brandt@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4558
Office: HGH 104

Spring 2022 Theatre Arts Advisor:
Last Names G-N

Amy Glazer

Amy Glazer

Theatre Arts Professor
Acting
Directing

amy.glazer@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4585
Office: HGH 104

Spring 2022 Theatre Arts Advisor: 
Last Names O-Z

Hojeong Lee

Hojeong Lee, Ph.D.

Radio-TV-Film Assistant Professor
Media Studies

hojeong.lee@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4664
Office: HGH 110

Kimb Massey

Kimb Massey, Ph.D.

Radio-TV-Film Professor
Media & Culture

kimb.massey@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4571
Office: HGH 128

Spring 2022 Radio-TV-Film Advisor: 
Last Names A-F

Harry Mathias

Harry Mathias

Radio-TV-Film Associate Professor
Associate Chair
Cinematography
Film Studies

harry.mathias@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4550
Office: HGH 220

Spring 2022 Radio-TV-Film Advisor: 
Last Names G-M

Alison McKee

Alison McKee, Ph.D.

Radio-TV-Film Professor
Film Studies

alison.mckee@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4535
Office: HGH 128

Babak Sarrafan

Babak Sarrafan

Radio-TV-Film Professor Emeritus
Film Studies
Film/TV Production

babak.sarrafan@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4536
Office: HGH 110

Raha Shojaei

Raha Shojaei

Radio-TV-Film Assistant Professor
Sound Production

raha.shojaei@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4552
Office: HGH 110

Spring 2022 Radio-TV-Film Advisor: 
Last Names N-Z

Scott Sublett

Scott Sublett

Radio-TV-Film Professor Emeritus
Film Studies
Screenwriting

scott.sublett@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-952-4572
Office: HGH 212

Adjunct Faculty: Radio-Television-Film

Simmony Baran

Simmony Baran

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Media & Culture 

simmony.baran@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: Online (via email/Zoom)

Apryl Berney

Apryl Berney

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Introduction to Media

apryl.berney@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-5750
Office: DMH 238B

Joe Biagini

Joe Biagini

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Radio: KSJS On-Air

joseph.biagini@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-309-8034
Office: HGH 238

Xavier Burgin

Xavier Burgin

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Film Production
Alternative Cinema

xavier.burgin@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: Online (via email/Zoom)

Capri Burrows

Capri Burrows

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Introduction to Media

capri.burrows@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4542
Office: HGH 128

Kim Clark

Kim Clark

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Introduction to Media

kim.clark@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: Online (via email/Zoom)

Barnaby Dallas

Barnaby Dallas

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Screenwriting

barnaby.dallas@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4573
Office: HGH 137 (Univ. Theatre)

Sam Gollestani

Sam Gollestani

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Directing
Film/TV Production

sam.g@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 137 (Univ. Theatre)

 

H Gilchrist

H. Gilchrist

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Alternative Cinema

haley.gilchrist@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4897
Office: HGH 234

Christine Guzzetta

Christine Guzzetta

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Film/TV Production

christine.guzzetta@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-5082
Office: HGH 212

Zaki Hasan

Zaki Hasan

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Media and Culture
Alternative Cinema

zaki.hasan@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 257

Peter Labuza

Peter Labuza, Ph.D.

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer 
Film Studies 

peter.labuza@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Nick Martinez

Nick Martinez

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Film Production

nick.martinez@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4549
Office: HGH 126 

Scott Miller

Scott Miller

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Intro to Sound for Film
Intermediate Sound for Film

scott.miller@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Larry Schapiro

Larry Schapiro

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Advanced Screenwriting

lawrence.schapiro@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234 

Juan Serna

Juan Serna

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Film/TV Production

juan.serna@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4542
Office: DBH 141

Yasser Shahin

Yasser Shahin

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Film Studies
Screenwriting

yaser.shahin@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: Online (via email/Zoom)

Drew Todd

Drew Todd, Ph.D.

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Alternative Cinema
Art of Film
Film Studies

drew.todd@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4575
Office: HGH 220

Logan Walker

Logan Walker

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Alternative Cinema
Art of Film
Film Studies

logan.walker@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-2369
Office: HGH 234

Rosanne Welch

Rosanne Welch, Ph.D.

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer 
Film Studies
Screenwriting 

rosanne.welch@sjsu.edu 
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Olga White

Olga White

Radio-TV-Film Lecturer
Introduction to Media
Media and Culture

olga.white@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Adjunct Faculty: Theatre Arts

Sarah Anderson

Sarah Kate Anderson

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Theatre Appreciation

sarahkate.anderson@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4542
Office: HGH 234

Nancy Carlin

Nancy Carlin

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Voice & Movement

nancy.carlin@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-5432
Office: HGH 234

Eugenie Chan

Eugenie Chan

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Playwriting

eugenie.chan@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

 

Scott Cummins

Scott Cummins

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Theatre Appreciation

scott.cummins@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234 

Courtney Flores

Courtney Flores

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Costume & Make-up Design

courtney.flores@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-7352
Office: HGH 101B

Philippa Kelly

Philippa Kelly, Ph.D.

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Theatre History

philippa.kelly@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Kathie Kratochvil

Kathie Kratochvil, Ed.D.

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Theatre Appreciation
Writing Workshop

kathie.kratochvil@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4568
Office: HGH 213

Steve Mannshardt

Steve Mannshardt

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Lighting
Stage Management

steven.mannshardt@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Beverly Mathis-Swanson

Bev Mathis-Swanson

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Storytelling
Oral Interpretation

bev.mathisswanson@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4570
Office: HGH 234

Johnny Moreno

Johnny Moreno

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Theatre Appreciation

johnny.moreno@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Vinh Nguyen

Vinh G. Nguyen

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Voice & Movement
Musical Theatre

vinh.g.nguyen@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234 

Kathleen Normington

Kathleen Normington

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Theatre Appreciation
Voice and Movement

kathleen.normington@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4534
Office: HGH 213

Matthew Thompson Salazar

Matthew Salazar-Thompson

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Writing Workshop
Theatre Appreciation 

matthew.thompson@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

Teresa Veramendi

Teresa Veramendi

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Acting
Directing 

teresa.veramendi@sjsu.edu
Phone: n/a
Office: HGH 234

 

John York

John York

Theatre Arts Lecturer
Scenic Design

john.york@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4554
Office: HGH 137E (Univ. Theatre)

Staff

Nikole Abrego

Nikole Marie Abrego

Department Analyst

nikole.abrego@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4532
Office: HGH 100

Zoom Personal Meeting Room
Office Hours* (M-F): 
9:00 am - 12:00 pm
2:00 pm - 4:00 pm

*To meet outside of these hours, please email Nikole to schedule an appointment.

Barnaby Dallas

Barnaby Dallas

Director of Production for Film and Theatre

barnaby.dallas@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4573
Office: HGH 137 (Univ. Theatre)

Fred Guess

William (Fred) Guess

Equipment Operations Manager

william.guess@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4560
Office: HGH 126A

Nick Martinez

Nick Martinez

General Manager of KSJS, Spartan Films

nick.martinez@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4549
Office: HGH 126

Skylar Montierth

Skylar Montierth

Electrical & Sound Technician

skylar.montierth@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4557
Office: HGH 137

Jake Ohlhausen

Jake Ohlhausen

Checkout Room Technician

jake.ohlhausen@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4587
Office: HGH 222

Checkout Room Hours
Monday:
10:00 am - 2 pm; 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tuesday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Thursday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm

Debbie Weber

Debbie Weber

Costume Shop Manager

deborah.weber@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4533
Office: HGH 101

John York

John York

Scene Shop Manager

john.york@sjsu.edu
Phone: 408-924-4554
Office: HGH 137E (Univ. Theatre)