Define Your Success

Jump to: Live Help from ESSC | Registration Calendars (**Spring 2023**) | Important Dates and Upcoming ESSC Events

(Tip: Use your browser's Find command [Ctrl/Cmd-F] to search for a topic on this page.)

Resources for Specific Students:

Resources for All Students:

Need a Live Person's Help?

Our normal business days and hours, unless otherwise posted, are:

Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. to 12:00 noon and 1:00 p.m. to 4:30 p.m.
(closed for lunch daily 12:00 - 1:00)

Registration Calendars

Key dates for each term including registration and payment deadlines

 Winter session | Spring 2023 | Summer session | Fall 2023 | Academic Year [pdf]

Timeline for Spring 2023 Registration

Monday, Oct. 3 Deadline for Graduating Seniors to file for Enrollment Cap increase to 19 units (starting Weds. Dec. 28)
Tuesday, Oct. 18 Enrollment Appointments Viewable on MySJSU for continuing students
Class schedule available on MySJSU or SJSU Class Schedule Page
Tuesday, Oct. 25

Advance Registration for Continuing Students begins
(ends Sunday, Jan. 22, 2023)

Enrollment Unit Cap: 17 (increases to 19 on Tues. Jan. 11
for Continuing Undergraduate Students in Good Standing)

Tuesday, Nov. 15 Variable waitlist process and Automated Waitlist Reprioritization begin (through Feb. 2, 2023, 9 days after start of Spring term)
December 2022 Enrollment Appointments Viewable on MySJSU for new undergraduate students
Advance Registration for new undergraduate students begins (ends Sunday, Jan. 22, 2023)
Tues. Jan 3, 2023 Excess Units Petition available on Registrar's forms page 
(any Continuing Students in Good Standing, up to 21 units) Details here.
Weds. Jan. 4, 2023 First time repeaters enrollment starts at 9:00 a.m. through MySJSU (during the last 3 weeks of Advance Registration)
Weds. Jan 11, 2023

Enrollment Cap increases to 19 units for Continuing Undergraduate Students in Good Standing (no petition needed)

(Enrollment Cap for Graduate Students remains at 16)

Mon. Jan. 16

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (campus closed)

Second or more repeaters (Undergrads) may submit a completed repeat petition (Registrar's forms) - Registering in class will start from the first day of class. (If repeating a class for the 3rd or more time and/or repeating in excess of 28 units, use the DocuSign form. Details here.)

Sun. Jan. 22 Advance Registration ends at 11:59 p.m.
Last Day to Drop for 100% Refund
Mon-Tue, Jan. 23-24

Registration closed

Weds. Jan 25

First Day of Instruction

Late Registration period begins on MySJSU after 7:00 a.m.

Some courses are opted out of waitlists so will show "instructor consent" and will require a permission number to add any section of that course.

Thurs. Feb. 2, 2023 Variable waitlist process and Automated Waitlist Reprioritization end (see below)
TBA

Permission number (add code) is required to add a class

Mon. Feb. 20

Late Registration period ends at 11:59 p.m.
Last Day to Add Classes via MySJSU
Last Day to Drop Classes without a "W" Grade via MySJSU

Tues. Feb 21

Enrollment Census Date
Late Drop Petition Required

Weds. Feb. 22

Late Add Post-Census Request requirement begins (forms)

Mon-Fri, March 27-31

Spring Recess - no classes

Friday, March 31

Cesar Chavez Day (campus closed)

Friday, April 21

Semester Withdrawal Deadline 5:00 p.m.
Last day to submit Late Enrollment Post-Census for current semester (forms)
Retroactive course drop or semester withdrawal (Undergraduate and Open University)
Graduate Petition for course drop or semester withdrawal

Mon. May 15

Last Day of Instruction
Last Day to Complete Coursework for "Incomplete Grades"

Wed-Fri, May 17-19; Mon-Tue, May 22-23

Final Exams

Wed-Fri, May 24-26

Commencement

Sat May 27

Grades Viewable on MySJSU

Monday, May 29

Memorial Day (campus closed)

Wed, June 7

Academic Standing & Current Semester Grades Posted on MySJSU & Transcripts

Important Dates and Upcoming ESSC Events

Agenda view works best.